One of the very first claims to be staked on this property was known as claim-319. The claim was reportedly reported as the Mariposa, and was owned by American capitalists Messrs. W. H. Lewis, and A. B. Blackington. One the great significance of this property was that it was situated at about five miles from Mission. It was one of the very first discoveries in the area that spark interest towards prospecting a gold-bearing quartz vein. This vein reportedly had a strike of northwest-southeast, with an average width of 2.74 m, and had traverse the claims staked. By that time it was recommended to explore the vein by sinking a 2.74 m by 3.35 m shaft to depth of 3.35 m. Most of the work in sinking this shaft was done at a distance of 10.05 m from the vein being explored.
It was not long after in 1903, when the Mariposa Gold Mines was formed to take over these claims. In addition to this take over it was reported that other claims were secured that were registered as J D 1, J D 2, J D 3, and J D 4, which consisted of 120 acres. Most of the work was confined to claim-319 or the Mariposa Claims, and has progress with the continuation of sinking the No. 1 shaft to an inclined depth of 208 feet. The shaft is described to have measured 2.74 m by 3.65 m, and was sunk to the west of vein No. 1. As development progress this resulted in station cutting a level at 30.48 m which was opened up by a crosscut to the east for a length of 36 feet. Most of this had mainly been done in order to strike the vein which was encountered at 7.31 m. Further development work would also be confine to station cutting another level at 60.96 m, and a crosscut would be driven for a length of 8.23 m to the east. Reports had also stated that the shaft for its time had a short collar, and was not properly timbered below this collar. The workings were also being access by a continuous string of ladders that extended to the bottom. These ladders were also considered to have been not in the greatest shape at the time of inspecting mining operations. In some cases it was revealed that the men had made a practice in riding the bucket that was hoisted by a bucket on skids.
As development progress it was also during this time that an engine house was built and had adjoined the shaft. Some of the main installations that were added to the engine house had included 60 H.P., locomotive type boiler, a 5-drill Ingersoll Sargent air-compressor, a double cylinder single drum hoist, cylinders 8 by 10-inches, and a drum that was 4 by 4 feet, and a boiler feed pump No. 2 Northey duplex. At the camp, which was situated at distance of about one-quarter of mile southwest of the shaft, buildings consisting of boarding and bunk houses, office, storehouse, stables, etc. were erected.
By 1924, Cooper Gold Mines, Ltd., had acquired property in McMurray Township, Algoma District, Ontario, Canada. The claims that were stake, and acquired had consisted of the former Minto Gold Property, and 12 claims consisting of the Jubilee-Mariposa Gold Properties. It was during this time period that much of the development work on the Cooper Claims had consisted of surface trenching, and diamond drilling. Other plans were being prepared to be undertaken on the set of claims covering the Mariposa Claim Group that would consist of 1,219.2 m of diamond drilling. Most of the work was generally focus on the Minto group of claims covering the gold prospect in McMurray Township.
It would be in the following year of 1926, that further exploratory work was focus on probing the area in vicinity to the Jubilee-Mariposa claims. The work that was undertaken during this time period had mainly been aimed at completing 410.26 m of diamond drilling. A large amount of development work was carried out on the Minto claim group when the sinking of the No. 2 shaft was being prepared.
Within the year of 1927, the Longbottom property would be later acquired by Pioneer Mining Company. This company would complete a total of three surface holes, totalling 121.92 m, on the south side of Trout Creek.
Parkhill Gold Mines, was officially incorporated in 1929, with an authorized capitalization of 3,000,000 shares of $1 par value. Some of the main directors and officers of the company were Sir. Thomas Tait, as president, F. D. Burpee, as Vice President, Geo. M. McKee, Geo. Glendinning as directors, and G. S. Andrews, as secretary treasurer. It had also been during that year when the company acquired the Longbottom Property from Pioneer Mining Company, consisting of five claims in McMurray Township.
During the year of 1929, major exploration work was carried out on the surface showing. The total estimated strike length was reported to be 487.68 m that was uncovered by ten pits/trenches for 243.84 m. These showings were reported to be so spectacular which a carload of ore with some thirty-tons was shipped to the Noranda Smelter. This gave returns of 3.04 ounces of gold (Au) per/ton which was recovered from the ore. A more detailed sampling would also be carried out on the Longbottom Property that resulted in the following provided in the chart below.
On March 28th, 1930, work was shortly after commenced on the installation of a mining plant, and shaft sinking was started on May 1. By this time the No. 2 shaft was sunk to at an inclination of 79.85 m below the surface, and had measured to be 2.13 m by 2.74 m. New levels would also be station cut on the mine’s 36.57 m and 73.15 m horizons. It was reported that lateral development on the 36.57 m level had amounted to completing 234.39 m of drifting, and 19.20 m of crosscutting. On the 73.15 m level lateral development would consist of 277.67 m of drifting, and 170.68 m of crosscutting.
Surface construction work had resulted in completing the mining plant that consisted of two 320-cubic-foot Ingersoll Rand electric belt-driven compressor, an IR single drum air hoist, an IR drill sharpener, oil furnace, and power-driven grinding wheel. Electrical power had also been obtained through the high-falls plant of the New Algoma District Power Company.
Some of the main surface work that was done on the Longbottom Property had consisted of considerable amount of trenching, stripping, and test pitting. This would also result in the engineering, and development work of a 60-ton milling facility to treat the ore. Reports by Parkhill Gold Mines, had stated that ore occurs within vein which vary greatly in width. Lenses of the ore connected by stringers or separated by barren sections of sheared rock. Within the underground workings there are general zones that are as wide as the drift composed of shattered rock. The rock had reportedly broke up on blasting into angular fragments that were from an inch to a foot in diameter. It was during shaft sinking when one lens of ore was cut within the shaft, and again on the 36.57 m level. Lateral development work would reveal that this lens had been 18.28 m long, and is reported to carry good gold values over a width of 3 feet. One of the widest lens that were seen within the underground workings had consisted of about 1.52 m of solid quartz. Most of the shearing that occurs is considered to occur roughly parallel to the direction the veins being work.
The property is hosted by various rock formations as reported, with the country rock mostly being dioritic in character. A specimen which was taken from the east end of the drift on the 240-foot level is porphyrite, with a thin section of which shows patches of feldspar usually with several crystals in a group and more or less radiating. These feldspars are reportedly altered to zoisite. (Zoisite is generally considered to occur when saussuritization takes place which calcium-bearing plagioclase feldspar is altered to a characteristic assemblage of minerals called saussurite. These include zoisite, chromite, amphibole, and carbonates) - (OntarioExplorations101). Reports from Parkhill had also stated that there is much biotite within zones and patches as if it had been developed by metamorphic processes. It has also been probable that the arrangement of the feldspar crystals is due to the crushing and recrystallization of phenocrysts of feldspar. ( this process as reported is generally done by residual fluids that are present during the late state of magmatic crystallization that can react with previously formed plagioclase feldspar to form saussurite, the saussurite will also be spread through the plagioclase or located near its outer margin. This plagioclase can may be reconstituted in a more sodium rick variety (albite), although the original form of the crystal is retained) – (OntarioExplorations101). Further statements by Parkhill had reported that a considerable quartz has been introduced into the rock by hot solutions. Streaks of greenstone are also reportedly exposed in the diorite that apparently represents remnants of Keewatin Greenstone caught as roof pendants in the intrusion. The area is also prone to several exposures of agglomerate consisting of angular fragments of what appear to be a Keewatin acidic rock.
Quartz veins had been reported to be almost entirely within the dioritic rock, and are generally cut by a number of smaller dikes, which apparently belong to the lamprophyre group. Although in many places these dikes are altered significantly that is particularly impossible to recognized the original rock type.
A pit which is exposed at a distance of 45.72 m east of the shaft is known to contain a dike that’s about 0.61 m wide, and runs parallel to the main vein. Its also reportedly cut by quartz, and generally replaced by that silicate-oxide mineral. The rock in the general area has a very striking blue colour, especially in places where its altered. A thin section which was observed shows that it is fine grained, and contains quartz with carbonate minerals such as iron carb Fe2(CO3)3. Remnants of crushed, and largely replaced phenocrysts of feldspar and considerable strongly pleochroic biotite showing very distinct haloes and blackened patches of melt. The blue color is largely associated with a felt, light blue mineral that’s about the colour of some blue tourmaline, which is common in the regional area. A small sampling program would also be carried out during the operating year of 1930, and is provided in the chart below.
Milton Survey Company Limited would become hired on by contract after negotiations with Parkhill Gold Mine in 1928. Milton Survey Company completed a full spectrum survey on the analysis of the Longbottom property. Additional work would be carried out on the Longbottom Vein which was traced for nearly 487.68-metre. The work resulted in establishing tent pits and trenches that further uncovered the vein for nearly 243.84-metre. A total of 30-tons of ore had become shipped from the site to Noranda Smelter and gave returns of 94.55 g/t Au. per/ton.
The main vein followed on the third mining level at a depth of 109.72 meters had been continued towards another vein zone of potential ore. Upon sampling of the vein it was concluded that company had sampled the vein material which ran as high as 82.73 g/t. Au. It was also concluded that the third level stope sections would run as high as 29.85 per ton g/t Au. Conclusions made resulted in further evaluating the deposit area that recommended more lateral development to take place on the fourth level. Most of the lateral development which had taken place on the fourth level had resulted in further evaluating the No. 2 vein system. Further conclusions stated that had been on the same strike as the same vein system encountered on the third level. An evaluation had taken place on the 146.30-meter level that resulted in geologically mapping the mineralized area without any changes to the geological structure. A total of two ore-bodies would be encountered during drifting procedures on the fifth mining level at a depth of 182.73-meter. Lateral development resulted in driving three raises from the fifth level to the fourth level that encountered rich-ore with a grade of 35.14 g/t Au. within the shoot. Values encountered within the stoping areas had ran widths of 1.21-meter to 1.52-meters that encountered good ore-grades. Diamond drilling continued to progress as good ore had shortly been encountered on the sixth level at depth of 225.55-metres.
Raise 6-504 had been driven from the 6th to the 5th level and preparations were all complete from stoping. There is about 700 tons of ore from surface development work and another 200 tons of broken ore in stopes within the underground workings. A cross-fault from the 5th to the 6th level rather strikes through the ore-body. A new ore-shoot was shortly after encountered on the 6th level which is situated at a distance of 52.42-meter west from the main ore-body. Delineation drilling carried out had further intersected the ore-body from the 5th to the 6th level. This new ore-shoot had been investigated for a total distance of 15.24-metres on the 6th level of the underground mining. A quartz vein encountered within the stoping widths had reportedly range from 1.82 to 1.92-meters which runs from 30 to 78-inches.
it was by Sept 24, 1930, that the face of the footwall zone had been laterally developed towards driving a drift in good ore. Delineation drilling had also given evidence that the westerly side provided good results for an ore-bearing pocket. Indications from this diamond drilling program had resulted in continuous ore development from the 6th level to the surface in this section.
(New October,30, 2020)
Progress would also be made in 1931, when the 40° inclined shaft was sunk an additional 42.97 m to a depth of 122.53 m. As sinking continued it was during 1931, when a new level would be stationed at a depth of 109.72 m on the inclination. With development proceeding the total amount of lateral work had amounted to 417.88 m of drifting, 109.11 m of crosscutting, and 3211.98 m of stoping. The amount of development footage on each level is done in the chart below.
On March, 1931, work was confined to constructing the cyanide milling facility to treat the ore with a capacity of 60-tons per day. It was by this time that the mill was completed, and was place into commission on July 10, 1931. Some of the main installations that were made had largely consisted of a jaw crusher, Marcy ball mill, Dorr rake classifier, Wilfley table, four Pachuca tanks, Dorr thickener, clarifier, olive filter, and Crowe vacuum system. The mill is generally arrange so that the capacity can also be increased to 120 tons per/day by the addition of a tube mill. Ore from the mine generally travelled on a belt that was hand sorted in order to increase the grade of the ore before crushing. It was also to the end of this year that a total of 9,082 tons was treated, and the total recovery amounted to 103,432.12 grams of gold (Au), and 6998.28 grams of silver. For the most part the milling facility was generally averaging an average recovery grade of 1.98 oz. Au. per/ton.
More changes would be made when a compressor having a capacity of 720-cubic feet was purchased from the nearby Jubilee Mine, and installed on August. By combining this addition it would also give the Parkhill Mine a total compress capacity of 1,360-cubic feet. This also resulted in completing two new bunk-houses, and a staff-house that would be built. Much of the building which contained the assay office and refinery had burned down, and later would be reconstructed.
One of the very first accidents to take place at the Parkhill Mine had occurred on July 18th, 1932. A mucker by the name of Kenneth Menzies, a British lad, had died at Sault Ste. Marie on August 1st, 1932. The result of this accident was caused by blood poisoning that resulted from the infection from a slight finger cut received from underground while handling rock. It was during this time that Menzies did not report for first aid treatment until the finger became inflamed. As this situation occurred it would be dressed twice daily, and Menzies had continued to work. By July 24, 1932, the inflammation had worsen, and he was ordered to Sault Ste. Marie, 200 miles distant, which was the nearest place that medical attention could be received. The next day prior, Menzies would leaf the mine site by boat on Lake Superior, and had arrived at the Soo the following day on July, 26, 1932. Menzies by this time would report to Dr. J. E. Gimby, and he would be sent to the hospital as he had no where to stay in town. After several days of treatment he was permitted to leave the hospital for several hours to observe a part of the municipal celebration that was being held. On the following day of July, 29, phlebitis had developed in the femoral vein of the left leg, follow by August 1st by septic pneumonia. Dr. A. S. McCaig, who is also a corner for the district, would be later called in for consultation. Menzies would die later that same day, and his passing was attributed to the development of septicaemia, or in other words blood poisoning, from the cut finger. (Rest in peace).
Development at the Parkhill Mine would progress onward as the two-compartment 40° inclined shaft was sunk an additional 60.96 m. As sinking progress it was noted that the No. 2 Parkhill Shaft had reached a total depth of 183.49 m below the surface. New levels during this time would also be establish at depths of 146.30 m, and 182.88 m. Lateral development would also progress from the 36.57 m level to the 182.88 m level. The total amount of lateral development work completed had amounted to 579.73 m of drifting, 41.14 m of crosscutting, and 6,991.19 m of stoping. The total lateral development completed on each level is provided in the chart below.
Cyanide milling operations were consistent throughout the operating year of 1932, and had treated a total of 16,822 tons of hand sorted ore. The total recovery from the gold-bearing ore resulted in 220,689.12 grams of gold (Au), and 14,152.09 grams of silver (Ag).
Other replacements would be made when a single drum electric hoist was installed to replace the small air hoist formerly used. Parkhill Gold Mines would also employ a total of 68 men, in which 44 of these employees were place underground. Some of the main managing supervisors who were in charge of operations had included A. R. Lawrence, J. A. S. Roussac, and Wm. T May. E. S Turner had remained as the managing director of operations who had a role in leading the mining project.
Within the year of 1933, the two-compartment 40° inclined shaft would continue to progress when it was sunk an additional 118.87 m below the surface. As sinking continued the two-compartment shaft would bottom out at a depth of 304.36 m. This resulted in establishing new levels that were commonly regarded as the sixth and seventh levels. Lateral development would amount to 786.9 m of drifting, 248.10 m of crosscutting, and 3,522.5 m of stoping. Most of the total lateral development work was generally confined to levels known as the 3rd. 4th, 5th, and 6th levels. More towards the end of 1933, Parkhill Gold Mines would continue the shaft down to a depth of 297.79 m on the inclined. The chart below provides the total development footage completed up to the end of 1933 on all levels.
During 1933, the cyanide milling facility would be operated for only 234 days, in which had treated a total of 11,565 tons of ore. Other additions to the mill would be added when a tube mill, and a second table were added to the mill circuit to obtain better extraction. It was in the later part of that year, on Sept 25th, 1933, when the mill would once again resume operation. Some more construction work would also follow when first class foundation of concrete were poured for the installation of machinery. The total recoveries from the cyanide treatment of ore had amount to 293,448.24 grams of gold (Au), and 17,697.88 grams of silver.
Other additions which were added had included a 1,200-cubic-foot IR compressor that would replace the two 230-cubic foot units, which were used with a 720-cubic foot unit. It was also within this year that much of the property was under contract management by Canadian Enterprises Ltd.
On the sixth level, raise No. 6504 had been driven through from this level to the 5th mine level. As development proceeded it was reported that this raise was entirely in good ore, and preparations were complete for stoping. Most of this had largely depended on the requirements that were needed to feed the mill. It was during this time period when there was about 700 tons of ore on surface from this development, and about another 200 tons of broken ore in the stopes. During development of the 6th level it was reported that a fault from the 5th to 6th level cuts right through this ore-body. Other statements made by Parkhill Gold Mines had reported that the tonnage would also be reduced from the amount obtained from the same ore-body on the 5th level. Other estimations would also be made when 3,000 tons of rich ore would be recovered from this section. Upon observation it was reported that the fault had left the ore-body below the 6th level, and it was not expected to interfere with its size and tonnage on the 7th level.
A new ore-shoot would also be encountered on the sixth mine level, that was about 51.82 m west of the main ore-body. Development revealed that the new vein had carried downwards from the 5th to the 6th level. It was also explored during this time for about 15.24 m, and it was observed that sections of the quartz veins had varied from 6- to 6 ½ feet in width, running over the whole length from 30 to 78-inches. Other development work would also follow when a raise was started from this section, which maintained gold values. Much of the easterly section had produced values over full stoping width that are provided in the chart below.
By additionally adding this ore, it would also increase the tonnage considerably ahead of milling operations. On sept. 23rd, the face of the drift was in good ore, and the shoot has every evidence of continuing westward for a considerable distance. These indications would need further follow up to ensure that the distance is reliant, and if there is a fairly large ore-body from the sixth-level to the surface. The area of this ore-body was also not thoroughly explored at the time to give predictions on its continuity. Some of the outcrop exposure along the surface also provide indications of fairly largely ore-body that could exist in the area.
Development on the 7th mining level was advanced by a drift to the west of the shaft that was opened up for a length of approximately 15.24 m. The level to east side of the No. 2 inclined shaft had been opened up for a total length of 9.14 m. Both of these drifts are reportedly in well fractured shearing which contains good looking narrow quartz veins, but up to the date mentioned, commercial ore had not been encountered for the time being. It was also hardly to expect this as no ore was found within the same section on the upper level. Lateral development work would also proceed onward at a rapid pace in order to get under the known ore-bodies found on levels above. This resulted in taking out short horizontal diamond drill holes that were being driven north and south in order to determine whether or not parallel veins exist of this level.
An important high-grade gold bearing vein was discovered on the surface at a distance of 274.32 m east of the No.2 Shaft. One of these veins was reportedly stated to have a true width varying from 2 to 6 feet. This vein had also been traced for a length east-west of about 60.96 m. Free gold in liberal quantities is known to commonly exist which is apparent for most of its entire length. The quartz is describe to be of excellent character, and is indicative of high-grade that’s found within the underground workings. It was quite possible that this surface outcrop had carried downwards as in most cases in other high-grade surface outcrops. More follow statements from Parkhill Gold Mines reported that there is substantial amount of ore tonnage that can be looked for in developing this vein on the 304.8 m level.
In 1930 the 7th level at a depth of 244.23-meters had continued to progress by station cutting, and driving a drift section on the westerly end was opened. Lateral development on the 7th level had continued to progress by 15.24-meter within the underground workings of the No. 1 Shaft. A continuation in drifting had also taken place when 9.14 meters was completed. Both of these drifts are in well fractured sheared zones which had encountered a good narrow quartz vein system that had not been thoroughly explored.
A decision had also been made to open the 304.80-meter level that resulted in sinking the shaft past this horizon. In addition it became quite evident that preparations were made towards opening up the vein system to the east and west of the working area. Delineation drilling and geological evaluations had estimated the potential strike being nearly 1,219.20-meters. Future preparations had been made towards opening up the are by continuous progressive diamond drilling to take place to north and south.
Geological mapping and prospecting of the surface outcrops had returned significant encouragement of a new vein system. The new vein system had been discovered at about 274.32-meter to the east of the shaft area and has a width of 0.60 to 1.82-meters. Geological mapping concluded that the vein system has a width of nearly 60.96-metres. Sampling of the vein had continued to provide good insight as high-grade values had been taken for most of the veined area. Further conclusions had regarded that this vein system continued downward as encouraging results were met with. Upon examining the underground workings it was deemed that the new vein discovered along the surface a plunge to depth. it was first observed on the third level at about 243.84 meter before access would be gained on the eighth level at depth of 304.80-meters. Even more progress towards geologically mapping the underground workings had taken place when the new vein system would be discovered at a depth of 335.55-meter. As geological mapping had taken place it was quite evident that the vein continued to the tenth level at a depth of 405.99-meter horizon. Much of the vein system had appeared to be quite faulted in place as it was observed from the underground workings. Diamond drilling from the tenth level had shortly after picked up the extension of this shoot and it became apparent that the vein was observed on the eleventh level. Another important zone is strongly regarded as the north-south No. 4 Considerable consideration is anticipated towards the shear structure that's host by the No. 4 vein system with a width of 9.14-meters. Considerable attention has been gained towards
At one point in time the hoist house had contained several machinery that provide efficient hoisting. Some of the main machinery that was added had included one Ingersoll Rand double-drum hoist, driven by a 125 H.P. electric motor. The hoisting capacity was achieved at 100 tons of ore for a 12 hour shift, and would be capable of hoisting down to a depth of 3,000 feet.
The main compressor house had also contained one Ingersoll Rand 2-place air compressor, “16 x 10” x 12”, driven by a 100 H.P. electric motor. It would also contain one Canadian Ingersoll Rand 2-stage air compressor, being 18” x 11” x 14”, which was driven by a 200 H.P., electric motor. Both of these compressors had contributed in providing an air capacity of 1,765 cubic feet per minute. It was in addition to these machines that there were all the instruments and accessories as switch panel with safety switches, circuits, breakers, etc.
At the Crusher House, it was known to commonly contain a 9” by 21” Telesmith Jaw Crusher, which was connected with the mill building by a 13’ rubber belt conveyor.
The Mill is described to be a straight cyanide mill, with the capacity of 80 tons per/day. It contains all the machinery and apparatus that’s required by good milling practices. One of the main items of the mil was a Marcy Ball Mill which was driven by a 125 H.P. electrical motor. Some of the other components included a Dorr Classifier, four Pachuca tanks, a 30’ by 12” Dorr Tray Thickener, Classifier Tank, precipitation tank, one Oliver filter, and two Wilfley Tables. In addition to this, the mill was also equipped with all the accessories as to motors, pumps, compressor, etc.
The Machine Shop was commonly known to contain a power hacksaw, 20” x 16’ bad engine lathe, a pipe threading machine, a welding and cutting outfit, a No.1-1/2 universal milling machine, a single head radial drill, and a double engine grinder.
One of the most important structures at the Parkhill Gold Mine was the Assay House, and Refinery. It was well equipped with a Rockwell Refinery, which had its own blast furnace, an assay furnace, and accessories i.e. Cupel machiner, pulveriser, etc.
One of the last important structures was the Pump House that was equipped with two pumps. One of these pumps was 300 E.P.M. Centrifugal Pump driven by a 10 H.P. electrical motor. The other pump that was added has a capacity of 2500 E.P.M. and would be driven by a 60 H.P., electrical motor. It was also reported that this pump would be equipped with a stand by engine of 75 H.P. The small pump had been currently aimed at supplying the mil, and the compressors. It was the much larger one that would supply the water tank of the sprinkler system. The main buildings included the mill, warehouse, hoist and compressor house, and assay office that were equipped with automatic sprinklers as protection against fires.
By the following year of 1934, Parkhill continue to operate its gold mining project in McMurray Township, Algoma District. It was during this time period that the sinking of the No. 2 shaft was continued to an additional 84.12 m, and to a depth of 381.91 m below the shaft collar. By completing this development work it would result in station cutting to new levels on the mine’s 304.8 m horizon, and 365.76 m horizon. Lateral development would also follow as the total development footage for that year had amounted to 1,132.33 m of drifting, 200.56 m of crosscutting, and 335.59 m of stoping. Most of the stoping operations for the year ending in 1934, was mainly done by open-stoping methods from the 3rd to the 8th levels, with a large amount of production coming from the 7th’and 8th levels. The total development footage completed on each level is provided in the chart below.
Production at the Parkhill Gold Mine would steadily increase as the mill would treat 19,455 tons of ore in 1934. It would be estimated that a total of 15,170 tons was taken from stoping while the balance came from underground development. Stoping operations were being confined open-stoping methods on all levels from the 3rd to 8th. Some of the most productive stopes were being place into production on the mines 304.80 m and 335.59 m level. The total recoveries from the mill had amounted to 279,427.73 grams of gold (Au), and 12,659.11 grams of silver (Ag).
Much of the vein system at Parkhill is describe to be one vein with a strike north-northwest and four veins with an east-north-easterly strike. Only three of these veins had been recognized on the surface, which are the No. 1, and No. 2 veins, and the so called Mill vein. An outcrop on the property is described to correspond to the No. 1 vein that was discover during the excavation work for the crusher house. The north-south or No. 4 vein had not been found to extend above the 5th level at a depth of 182.80 m. It was probable to note that the No. 4 veins barren shear zone extends to the surface. An interpretation of the vein system was made in regards to studies that were based on underground conditions, various mine maps, and reports. Other problems relied due to the lack of stoping, and raising connecting between the eight, seventh, and sixth level horizons. Even more statements had reported that there is conclusive evidence which shows that the so called Zero Shear is the downward extension of the No. 1 vein.
Most of the east-west striking veins at Parkhill are considered to form a system converging towards the west. In this section the No. 1 vein appears to be the most persistent structure while the other veins are headed to join the No. 1 vein but disappear in the western part of the mine.
Some of the most important gold bearing structures are shear zones that form a rock of surprising compactness. In places where no quartz bodies are present the shear zones are indicative by insignificant looking streaks of carbonate or mica (Iron carb) A parallel orientation of most of the iron carbonate favors parting of the sheared rock parallel to the strike of the zone. In many reasons, prospectors and miners had referred this shear zone as schist. The reason for this was mainly due to the differential weathering, and the resemblance of the shear zones to schist layers. These auriferous shear zones are not generally confined to certain rock formation. The Algoman plutonic rocks and the older complex are traversed alike.
It’s the formation of these veins at Parkhill that were accompanied by a more or less intrusive alteration of the wall rock. A considerable amount of sulphides, alteration products such as biotite, chlorite, sericite, and black tourmaline are known to occur. In some cases albite, epidote, olinozoisite, and rutile are visible under a microscope. Much of the lateral extent of the hydrothermal alteration generally coincides with the width of the shear zones. In some cases its reported that the effects of hydrothermal processes are also evident in such places where the shear zones do not contain any quartz. The impregnation of the wall rock of the Parkhill veins with auriferous sulphides is only slight and generally of no economic importance. Near rich ore-shoots, the county rock may be sufficiently mineralized to increase the width of the workable ore. Some of the main sulphides that are contained within the ore are known to include pyrite, pyrrhotite, chalcopyrite, arsenopyrite, and sphalerite. Further statements report that quartz, ankerite, calcite, tourmaline, and pale-green actinolite constitute the gouge minerals. Quartz of the Parkhill veins are generally consider to display a medium-fine grained sugary quartz which stands in marked contrast to the coarsely crystalline quartz of most barren veins on the property. Its within well mineralized sections that the quartz is reported to grade into a bluish grey colour with a greasy luster.
The precious metals at Parkhill are known to occur as free milling gold which indicates all microscopically visible gold, as well as particles of microscopic size, that after sufficient grinding of the ore can be extracted by amalgamation. Gold which is extremely finely distributed is generally contained within the sulphides. The size of these particles are so minute that they remain invincible even under the highest magnification for this time period. In most cases free gold is considered to occur as flakes, leaflets, and irregular grains that may exceed pea-size. Some of the smallest particles are extremely fine size and measure only fractions of one micron.
Gold veins are also reportedly confined to sections of the shear zone in which contain quartz bodies. Single quartz lenses are considered to show much more higher gold tenor than others. Some of the workable vein portions or ore-shoots generally have irregular outlines that display a remarkable persistence along their vertical extent. Some of the main ore-shoots within the mine are known to form continuous columnar shaped bodies which extend from the third level to the eight level.
During the operating year of 1935, the Parkhill Gold Mine was in steady operation throughout the year. Even more changes would be made when the company would decided to continue the sinking of the two-compartment, No. 2 inclined shaft. It was towards the end of that year that much progress would be met as the shaft was continued an additional 60.05 m, and would reach a depth of 457.2 m. Progress was made towards station cutting levels on the 405.99 m and 441.96 m horizons of the inclined shaft. Total development footage within the mine workings would also amount to completing 1411.22 m of drifting, 145.08 m of crosscutting, and 319.73 m of stoping during the year. The total lateral development which was completed on all levels is provided in the chart below.
From all development and stoping operations the Parkhill Gold Mine would obtained 20.714 tonnes of ore. It was of this tonnage that nearly 17,420 tons was taken from stopes, while the balance was obtained through development. Stoping operations which were done from the underground workings had resulted in open-stope methods. All production was largely obtained from 2nd level down to the 10th level, and nearly half of the stope production came from the 8th, and 9th levels of the No. 2 shaft. Milling for the time being was treating ore between an average of 0.67 oz. of gold (Au) to 0.96 oz. of gold (Au) per ton. From all production a total of 299,176.88 grams of gold (Au) and 4331.47 grams of silver (Ag).
By 1935, the Parkhill Gold Mine was among the largest producer in the Wawa area, and was getting rapidly ready to get into favourable position regarding ore-reserves. The mine for the most part was considerably handicapped during its earlier stages due to the fact that a mill was erected before it was justified by mine development. Other problems had relied on the immediate need of ore for the milling operation, that resulted in confining operations downwards in following the main ore-shoot at a rapid rate. Lateral development work eventually discovered a new ore-shoot to the east of the shaft on the 405.99 m level. The result of this discovery led to the opening of the 10th level within the new mine section. By doing this development work it was determined to be pretty smart as most of the mill feed for the past year was taken from this section. Upon observation and development work it was indicative that this new ore-shoot is known to extend from above the 335.59 m level to at least the 441.96 m level. It was uncertain at the time if the new ore-shoot had indeed extended to even greater depths below the 441.96 m level. Several other ore-shoots were also discovered and had been picked up until further to the east, and was shortly deemed an important section of the Parkhill Gold Mine.
Further search for more ore-shoots was undertaken in which another one had been located between the shaft and the main western system. It was determined that this ore-shoot was discovered on the 8th level and had appeared to apex a short distance above this level. As development proceeded a new ore-shoot was also located on the ninth level, and had followed downwards for a short distance above the 10th level. Observations would additionally be made when it appeared that the ore-shoot was faulted. Diamond drilling from the tenth level had additionally picked up the downward continuation of this ore-shoot, and at the eleventh level it had been driven westward to open it up.
Another fairly important ore zone was considered the north-south or No. 4 vein. This section had largely comprised of extensive shearing that was some thirty feet in width. At several points along this shearing it was reported that commercial lenses were pick up. Ore is also considered to occur northward along this zone and that the southern end has not been as productive. As the shaft dips to the south, it’s carried further and further away from the productive zone on the No. 4 vein as deeper levels are reached. Therefore in the lower sections of the mine, no work has been done to explore this zone, but it offers intriguing possibilities. Further plans would also be made towards investigating this area as other development would be in progress. The main ore-zone is known to be carried downward through the whole operation, and ends at the 8th level. Upon observation it was indicated that this zone rakes westerly, and with the discovery of the zone east of the shaft on the ninth and tenth, no work was done on it. These new indications revealed that the east side of the shaft had offered sufficient ore which was in proximity to it. Most of the mining operation were however, confined to the westerly section as the ore-zone was traced to a distance of a dyke which cuts the vein in vicinity to the ninth level.
At the tenth level, the drive was being advanced in order to continue through this dike, and there is every likelihood that the vein will be once again picked up to the west. Diamond drilling that was undertaken would also indicated the presence of parallel veins that need more investigating. The lowest workings of the mine were now reaching considerable depths of nearly 533.4 m below the surface. It would also be at this point in time that the lowest working level of the Parkhill No. 2 Shaft was the 441.96 m level. One of the oldest theories for the time were that these veins had not reach significant depth, and would prove to be exploted as they continue to greater depths at Parkhill.
One of the most promising veins would be pick up through development that was commonly referred as the Sunrise Vein. Much of the vein was in parts considered to be worked from underground, and would reach the Michipicoten Gold Mine Boundary. Samples that were taken of this vein had reportedly 0.45 oz. of gold (Au) per/ton for a width of 24”, and 1.11 oz. of gold (Au) per/ton over 32”. Another bulk sample of that was taken from the same vein material had returned 0.91 oz. of gold (Au) per/ton, 5.48 oz. of gold (Au), 0.52 oz. of gold (Au), 3.15 oz. of gold (Au), and 0.25 oz. of gold (Au).
With the year of 1936, the two-compartment, inclined, No. 2 Shaft would be sunk to an additional 88.39 m, and would bottom out at depth of 545.59 m. Other plans were aimed at station cutting new levels that were opened up on the 489.20 m, and 534.01 m horizons. It would also be at this time that lateral development had continued onward from the 8th to the 13th level. As development proceed changes would also be made when three-compartments were carried out below the 9th level at 335.59 m. This would also involve other major changes when extra compartments would be used for stage hoisting below the 441.96 m level. Even more installations would continue when a 7- by 6-inch Ingersoll Rand air hoist would be installed in the underground working for this purpose.
It was also to date since the commencement of mining in 1931, that a total of 1,494,211.03 grams of gold (Au), and 80,433.59 grams of silver (Ag) were recovered. Much of the No. 2 shaft at its uppermost section is considered to follow the main vein and continues in the hanging wall of the original vein to an inclined depth of 533.4 m. By 1936, a total of thirteen levels would be established, with the deepest one being at a vertical depth of 350.52 m. A total of four veins are reportedly stated to have been worked with the strike being N. 60 E. to the east. One of these veins is commonly considered to have an approximate strike of N. 20 W. The dip of the veins also vary from 30 to 60 d, with the average being 45 d. Only three of these veins are located on the surface, while the other two being discovered during underground. Its also the “North-south Vein” which are not generally found to extend above the 5th level, although its barren shear zone seems to continue towards the surface.
Some of the other veins included the “East-west Vein” that forms a system converging towards the west. The No. 1 vein, on which the shaft was started, appears to be the most persistent, and the other veins are headed to join the No. 1 vein and disappear in the western part of the mine. Its also similar to note that the “East-west veins” are considered to converge downward, as only two of them have definitely been recognized within the deep levels. Its closer to the “North-south vein” that the “East-West vein” shows a slight deflection, which was most likely caused by a late fault zone accompanying the “North-south vein” in the hanging wall. These veins generally consist of lenticular quartz bodies, which occur along shear zones. Much of the horizontal extent of the quartz lenses varies greatly and in some places can reach 38.10 m. Its also the width of the quartz that averages a little over 2-feet, and has a maximum width of 6-feet. A total of three major ore zones are known to occur along the east-west vein system and one ore-shoot on the north-south vein. The axe of the ore zone is known to pitch at an angle of about 60 d to the right of an observer looking down the dip of the vein. Stopes that are set out on the “East-west Vein” take toward the west and those on the “North-south Vein” to the south. As compared with their relative short horizontal length, nearly all the ore-shoots were followed from the 3rd level downward to the 9th level, where it was found to be cut off by a wide diabase dike. Much of the mineralization of veins are chiefly considered to essentially consist of pyrite, pyrrhotite, chalcopyrite, and gold. Generally the quartz is also considered to carry very little visible gold. Pockets containing spiracular aggregates of coarse gold have been found occasionally, and some of them are said to have yield more than 400 ounces of gold. The total lateral development footage completed on each level is provided in the chart below.
The total amount of ore that was treated during the operating year of 1936, resulted in 22.943 tons of ore. A total of 21,080 tons of ore was largely taking from stoping operations while the rest was from development. Other major changes were made when the production was upped to 100-tons, and made into an amalgamation cyanide mill. The large amount of ore was mainly being taken out by open-stope methods that were confined from the 8th to the 12th levels. Over half of the production had largely came from the 10th and 11th levels. Amalgamation milling operations during the year would recover 293,615.57 grams of gold (Au), and 4,214.83 grams of silver (Ag).
Mining operations continued throughout the operating year of 1937, as Parkhill Gold Mines continued to work its project. It was during that time when the No. 2, inclined shaft would be sunk an additional 37.19 m, and continued to a depth of 582.78 m. By progressing with this development work it was advice to station cut a level on the mines 572.11 m horizon. This would be followed by progressive lateral development work that amounted to 848.87 m of drifting, 95.71 m of crosscutting, and 318.52 m of stoping. The following chart below provides the total development footage completed on each mine level.
Milling operations would be continued throughout the operating year of 1937, in which 25,524 tons of ore was treated at a daily rate of 100 tons. Almost entirely it was reported that 21,457 tons was mainly taken from stoping and the balance was obtained from development. Stoping operations were continued by open stope methods from the 8th to the 14th level of the No. 2 Shaft. Nearly half of the total stope production would also be taken from the 11th and 12th levels. Diamond drilling that was done had also amounted to completing 3,182 feet of drilling from underground. Some of the other changes that were made had included the installation of a 48- by 36-inch Ingersoll Rand double drum electric hoist which was used to eliminate two-stage hoisting within the shaft.
Development work that was done on the 14th level of the Parkhill Gold Mine had opened up new possibilities. The general opening of the 14th level had proven the extent of the ore at that horizon after it had been opened up into lean zone that was encountered below the 12th level. This new ore is described to have occurred in two new ore-shoots totalling a length of 24.38 m. As development proceeded it was strongly reported that this ore zone had apex a short distance above the 14th level. By developing this area it had indicated some of the best tonnage and would require to deepen the shaft workings in order to open up the 15th and 16th levels. On the 14th level to the west of the shaft most of production obtained had came from Stope 14-228, that’s on the first 40 feet of ore length. On that level, it was proposed that the average width of gold is 3 feet, and contains an average grade of 2.40 oz. of gold per/ton. On the 13th level, interesting values were obtained across narrow widths with high-grade sections of 4.77 oz. of gold (Au). For the most part, predictions were made that this could possibly be the beginning of ore below the 12th level where considerably high-grade ore occurred.
One of the mining officials of this mine had also reported that a 40-foot length of this ore occurs in the new vein structures. These structures are located at about 25 feet to the south or in the hanging wall of the main shearing. In this area its reported that there is an abundance of quartz within this shear, and some contain erratically high assays, which free gold has been encounter where the vein does not make ore for the time being. These indications had predicted that all of this ground is favorable to the deposition of gold bearing ore.
Exploratory work confirmed the existence of a rich stope that had been first encountered on the 3rd mining level at a depth of 109.72-meter horizon. Minimal exploration diamond drilling and lateral development had encountered a sheared vein system by crosscutting it. Lateral development resulted in continuous ore possibilities that were not found on the 4th level at a depth of 146.30-meter horizon. Geological mapping and examining the area of the underground works had shown 15.24- to 18.28-meter lengths of high-grade ore. More possibilities had concluded that the mine would provide additional tonnage to historical ore reserves on the 5th and 6th levels at depth of 182.73- and 223.12-meter horizons.
On 12th level, at a depth of 489.20 m, a porphyry formation had occurred to the east of the shaft. It was also believed that this had presented even more favorable ground than was anticipated for this region. Shearing in the area is also well defined and country rock is fairly well mineralized. This formation is also quite similar to that in which commercial ore was found at the Smith Mine, which lies to the east of Parkhill. None of the levels were also developed within this region above the 12th, and should encounter ore here that could be quickly developed up to the seventh level, before encountering the Smith Boundary Line. Some attention should also be paid to the No. 4 vein below the 12th level where it intersects the main east-west vein below the Eastern Ore Zone. This northwest-southeast vein had jade ore under similar conditions on the 7th and 8th levels. This vein system is also predicted that it could be rapidly developed from the 13th, and 14th levels at depths of 534.01 m and 572.11 m horizons. It was also indicated that the increasing depth had played an important roll towards an increase in the ore-body size, and value. Most of the encouraging development results were obtained at a depth of 304.80 m, and to the east of the shaft that is immediately south of the Michipicoten Gold Mine boundary. Another indications is led to believe that this is the same vein which the Smith Shaft had been sunk on.
Drifting on the 289.20-, 534.01-, and 572.11-meter horizon had appeared to quite off centered from the ore horizon. Diamond drilling of three holes from underground on the 289.20-meter horizon at about 36.57- and 54.86-meters north of the drift had intersected an ore-bearing structure. Re-checking of these holes should proceed in finding addition tonnage that could be potentially mined from this horizon. The exploration of these holes as indicated further ore potential that needs more evaluation to determine mineable widths.
Attention was yet again gained on the 10th level at at depth of 335.28-meter below the surface workings. It is believed that the main westerly side of the surface had gained attention towards the westerly side of the property. On the fourth level at a depth of 146.30-meters it has given evidence that the diabase dyke had provided encouraging results. Upon geologically investigating and laterally developing the dyke it was proven that it had an unexplored width of 22.86- to 25.90-metres. As crosscutting continued on these diabase dykes it was noted that two new veins would be discovered. It was concluded that these two new veins had been regarded as the north-south and east-west vein systems. Short diamond drill holes that probe the diabase dyke could not encounter any significant due to cross-faulting.
Exploratory geological mapping and surveying of the underground workings gave interesting finds. The 13th level at a depth of 534.01-meters had given new possibilities of a strong narrow width quartz vein system. At this depth it was proven that the average grade resulted in 87.40 g/t Au. per/ton. Possible statements would shortly after given expectations that this new ore-zone had been the beginning of new ore discovered.
New attention would be gained during the progressive year of 1937, when Parkhill Gold Mines continued its strategic move towards the 14th level. The mine provide all possibilities of continuation of the ore-body being developed on the 572.11-meter horizon. Upon opening of the 14th level at depth of 572.11-meters it was noted that the sheared structure containing the ore had proven satisfactory. A decision was made towards opening up the level after discovering a potential horizons containing ore on the 12th level at a depth of 489.20-meter. New ore discovered on this horizon had proven existence of two shoots with a total length of 24.38-meters. Diamond drilling supporting the data provided had given indications of a large potential ore-tonnage that required deepening the shaft area. It was further noted that production continued to take place west of stope 14-228 and was among the first ore discovered for a length of 12.19-meter. After sampling the stopes it was proven that the ore had an average grade of 44.16 g/t Au. Exploration on the upper most level is to be carried out east of the shaft to explore for continuation of the ore on the adjoining Smith Mine.
(new October 30, 2020)
With minimal diamond drilling from underground it became concluded that there was ore possibilities at greater depths. Its possible to conclude that the raking of the ore-shoot had suggested the pretense of two parallel ore-shoots at about 2 levels below the 572.11-meter horizon. Lateral development had ended at the Michipicoten Gold Boundary on the eastern side of Parkhill that was stoped on the 189.20-horizon. Upon laterally developing the area it was concluded that the ore-deposit at Parkhill had raked upward into Michipicoten Ground. If the shoot continues through to the surface as predicted by the geological structure from the 9th level at a depth of 335.59-meter then potential tonnage can be assured.
Gold bearing quartz veins are considered to occupy the are with greenstone igneous rock formations being diorite intrusive. Much of the depth attained at the Parkhill Gold Mine is considered to be occupied by quartz flooding. Quartz flooding in the area is considered to pinch and swell in a laterally and vertically type of style. Its believed that lateral extensions of the quartz flooding is occupied by variations that are 15.24- to 60.96-meters while vertical extensions average 304.8-meters. Its also noted that quartz lenses are occupied by shoots that generally have a moderate geological rake to the west. Sampling undertaken on the 14th level at a depth of 572.11-meters has indicated even far more greater possibilities with high-grade potential increasing at depth.
The Parkhill Property is considered to have hoisted nearly 124,107 tons of ore/minimal waste rock from the underground workings. It was concluded that the total grade average had been reported at 14.30 g/t Au. per/ton. Upon milling it became quite evident that the mill site would treat 125,192 tons with an average grade of 13.37 g/t Au. with the total recovery being 1,708,991.10 grams of Au. (54,945.34 ounces)
Van Sickle Gold Mine - Parkhill Splay Vein
One of the most fascinating discoveries that adjoins the Parkhill Property is the Michipicoten Gold Horizon. The Michipicoten Property has a total of four vein system in which only one had been explored with limited amount of diamond drilling on the eighth level of Parkhill. The Michipicoten Gold Mine was first discovered on private property that gained much attention in 1937. A total of nine veins were identified on the property prior to prospecting and geological mapping the area. Conclusions made by the acting engineer had reported that the property is hosted by seven parallel veins that are within a lateral distance 91.44-meters. Prospecting these veins would focus on trenching and stripping them for a distance of nearly 182.88-meters. A traverse line would become establish prior to taking out geological mapping that resulted in tracing the vein for a distance of 396.24-meter. Michipicoten Gold had reported that most of the veins along the surface are stated to be quite narrow in places with average widths variation between 0.20- to 0.45-meters. Detailed exposure of these veins is considered to have a true width of 1.82 meters with some visible gold distributed for a length of 9.14-meters that becomes narrow and lost.
Ward Lake Gold Mines would take over ownership during the year of 1938, and would continue prospecting the area. Ward Lake Gold Mines reported that the property comprises of numerous quartz veins with a strike of east-west or north-easterly. Its on the north part of the property where three vein occur close together which strike east-west. One of the most northern veins known as the Mickelean vein has been traced for strike length of 213.36 m. Ward Lake describes the vein as being a true fissure vein which occurs in sheared greenstone. The most western end of the vein shows a width of mineralized quartz varying from six-inches to five feet. On the east end, the veins consistent within shearing, which is approximately three-feet wide, and displays numerous quartz stringers in finely ground sericitized, rusty greenstone. A bulk sample of 4-tons was taken from this vein in 1933, and was brought to the Parkhill Gold Mine where the material would be crushed and sampled. Upon recovery/sampling it was reported that the vein had ran 0.63 oz. of gold (Au) per/ton. Another sample of approximately 1,400 pounds would also been sent to Ottawa for mill run testing, and the results gave an average assay of 1.21 oz of gold (Au) per/ton. These assays had also indicated the presence of an ore-shoot that was roughly 90 feet in length running about 0.96 oz. of gold (Au) per/ton over 11-inches in width.
Some of the other veins on the property are considered to occur at about 30 to 40 feet south of the first vein described. Both of these quartz veins are narrow. One of these veins is considered to show a width of from 0.30- to 0.60-meter, and would be traced on surface for 60.96-meter. The other vein shows a true width of 6-inches which had been stripped for a length of 36.57-meter. This vein is also reported to show small specks of visible gold within the outcrop for a length of approximately 60 feet.
On the easterly side of claim 377, a strong vein had been stripped for a total length of 320 feet. This vein which is referred as the Mariposa, runs diagonally across the slope of a hill, and runs into a swamp on both ends. The strike of the Mariposa vein is roughly 50° east, and dips at about 60 d to the northeast. This vein has an average width of over 3 feet, and had been channel sampled for a length of 240 feet. It was the most southern part of this vein that gave negligible results. For the time being this vein wasn’t considered to meet with gold prices to be deemed ore-grade, but was encouraging, and further testing of this vein was recommended. The upper most portion had showed the following assays that are indicated in the chart below.
The failure of the mine was mainly due to technical difficulties that were encountered during the operating years of 1937 to 1938. One of the most difficulties encountered within the Parkhill Gold Mine project was obtaining the right amount of capital. The vein on the southern part of the ParkHill ground is known to be called the Sunrise Vein. In the early part of the 1920's, the Sunrise Shaft that was 1.82- to 2.74 and had only been sunk to a depth of 30.48-meters. Table below provides converted gold values of the Sunrise Vein to gold grams and inches to widths.
(new) Monday, November, 2nd, 2020)
Another vein that runs of the Sunrise Vein is considered to also host significant gold values encountered. at a distance of 0.36-meters from the shaft. Parkhill Gold Mines continued it progressive movement towards channel sampling the splay of the Sunrise Vein system. Channel Sampling gave significant gold values that were much higher than those taken from the main "Sunrise Vein". The main vein system of the splay had been sampled for nearly 19.81-meters.
New - November, 3rd, 2020)
Samples taken are quite high due to multiple factors related to the geological structure at the Parkhill Gold Deposit in Wawa, The first of these factors is related to shear structure with a deformation zone that is between F2 and F3 shear zones that are granodiorite rich and resemble same characteristics as Hemlo Gold Deposits. Altercations also take place due to jasperoidal conclusions and biotite rich facies formation along with hornblende nickel deposition. These depositions are caused by slight organic state that is volcanic massive sulphide rich containing pyrite, nickeline, and copper that's observed.
A four ton bulk sample was taken from this vein that outcrops along the surface and is in distance of the Parkhill Gold Deposit. This resulted in taking the sample over a length 18.28-meter that would be first crushed before being sampled.
Prospecting also revealed the presence of two other interesting veins on historical claim 3566. One of these veins is considered to show a width of 6-inches in well mineralized quartz veins. The other one is largely reported to be associated with shearing, and contains numerous quartz stringers, with the whole having a width of 6-feet. These two veins are generally reported to be 50-feet apart from each other, which has a north-easterly strike, and generally dips to the southeast at an angle of 60 d. It also reported that a small test pit was sunk on one of these veins.
Its also apparent that the Smith vein branches off the Parkhill main vein where it joins near the boundary line between historical Claim 3124, and Claim 301. It was also found that the easterly extension of the Smith vein was observed on historical Claim 301, and was stripped for a length of 200 feet by Michipicoten Gold Mines, Ltd. The surface exposure is also stated to resemble the same appearance and characteristics as the Parkhill ground. It generally contains a continuous series of quartz lenses that vary in length from 5 to 20 m, and in width from 4 feet of solid quartz.
Another occurrence of interest is considered to traverse Trout Creek, and is found 300 feet from the corner where Trout Creek flows in historical Claim 301. Surface work on this portion of the property had disclosed a strong shear zone that has a width of approximately 14 feet. Much of the shearing in this location contains a matrix of sericitization and carbonate in greenstone. This area is reportedly stated to contain numerous mineralized quartz stringers, and two quartz veins, that are 6- to 12-inches wide. It had also been revealed that this shear was cross trenched at intervals, and traced for a strike length of 600-feet. This work ascertains the fact that a quartz exposure, located at approximately 300 feet north of Smith Shaft, and tested by the sinking of a shallow shaft, is apart of this break. Its also the strike of the shear that tends to traverse the area in a southerly direction at an angle of 60° east, and it dips to the northeast at an angle of 45°.
(new October, 27, 2020)
Ward Lake Gold Mines continued to progress by investing towards the Parkhill Property in 1938. It was during this period that a number of quartz veins systems had been geologically mapped on the property area. Ward Lake reported that the most important veins have a east-west or northeasterly strike. One of the most prominent veins on the Parkhill Property is considered as the Nickelson Vein and has been traced for a length of 213.36-meters.
The property in 1944, was transferred to Sandra Gold Mines, Limited, and prospecting work would be carried out on the Parkhill claims. It was within this year that the property would consist of sixteen patented mining claims. A wide distribution of gold (Au) is considered to occur in the area, and contains favorable geological conditions. This resulted in conducting a re-evaluation of the underground workings which continued to show rich ore at the bottom level. Other possibilities in locating a considerable amount of tonnage could also be found in the upper level workings. Some more areas of interest where gold can be found is to the west of a diabase dike beyond which no exploration work was carried out.
Or within the mine is also stated to offer no difficulties in concentration, and operation costs had allowed a fair margin in profit to be taken. Other favorable conditions rely on the fact that there was a lack of efficient development, and exploration, which is coupled with misinterpretation of the major geological Structure. It was believed that the mine had no chance, but would run in difficulties which ended in bankruptcy.
Geological mapping would be undertaken by Sandra Gold Mines of the surface, and underground workings. Plans would also be made towards conducting exploratory diamond drilling from underground to locate undisclosed ore-bodies, followed by some 300 feet of shaft sinking. Upon completion of this work, it was suggested that the work should show sufficient ore to warrant the installation of a mining plant and concentrator.
Reports are also made in regards to the geological setting which is described to be igneous in origin. Its also stated that the geological conditions were quite complex, and difficult to interpret. Most of the oldest rocks in the district are Keewatin volcanics which are chiefly basin flows interbedded with fragmental volcanics. These volcanics together are also considered to form within an iron formation, which are overlain by greywacke, conglomerate, and arkose. Its determined that these volcanics are intruded by porphyritic, diorite, granodiorites, granites, and lamprophyre. A theory used, indicates that a force caused by intrusions of these rocks had faulted the whole entire country into blocks, with two systems of faults. Its along these fault zones that fine gold (Au) bearing deposits are considered to occur. These largely seem to be closely associated with the older granodiorite which are sheared, and the shear structure filled with quartz. Its predicted that the deposition of quartz within the shearing is largely related to the granodiorite, and in turn had been crushed, forming what is known as sugary quartz. Much of the main vein is also stated to be a series of lenses in a break of schisted rock cut by parallel dykes of lamprophyre.
The main shear zone is reported to be largely associated with porphyry, and strike north-east-north-west and dip south east at about 40°. Predictions that were made had been a continuous of options in determining if the ore had ran parallel to the shear zones. Almost all development is considered to be driven along these main breaks, and much of the shearing is silicified with irregular barren quartz. Studies were undertaken by Sandra Gold which were entirely focus on the structural characteristics of the mine. These studies had revealed that the formation had been subjected to transverse fracturing that lies within the known ore-bodies. On average its revealed that the ore-bodies are generally considered to have a strike of east-west with a southerly dip.
It was from this theory that Sandra Gold was able to transform the project from a losing operation to a profitable one. It was predicted that the mine to date had reasonable ore-reserves that were encountered throughout exploration work. However, other problems were encountered when the structure was lost sight of, and development work had once again followed the main shears with results of finding little ore. (Faulted). It was found on the 14th level that three ore-shoots had shown encouraging results which are provided in the chart below. This vein is considered as a true fissure vein type that occurs in sheared greenstone within the property area. A total of two other veins occur 9.14-meter and 12.19-meter from the first one mention on the property area. One of these vein system showings has a width of 60.96-meters and another one is 36.56-meters in length with The average width of the first vein rather has a width between 0.30- to 0.60-meters, and the other on average 6 1/2 inches. Reports on this vein is regarded to actually show speck of visible free gold with a strike length of 18.28-meters.
miGolden Age Resources continued it progressive exploration campaign with Duraine Mines, Limited in McMurray Township of the Wawa area. The dewatering of the No. 1 Shaft took place during the mid 1980's as exploration efforts were carry on. Much of this resulted in completing underground geophysics and delineation drilling down to the eighth mine level. This had resulted in completing a complete evaluation of the underground workings that were mapped, and most of the quartz veins sampled. Further work had taken place in order to secure the shaft area by rehabilitating it for dewatering purposes. Metallurgical data had shown that most of the mineralization had been hosed in sheared zones of intermediate volcanic rock. Mineable widths are considered to be hosted in sheared zones containing quartz and other shear structures. The potential zone is known for striking in an east-west direction and is considered to be in-lined with the shaft area and dips at 38° to 45° degrees. A second shear systems is considered to strike north and dips in an easterly direction by 40° to 60°. One of the best sheared structures within the Parkhill Mine is known for hosting the No. 4 oxidized-quartz vein. The No. 4 vein structure is considered to be quite unique as it had been responsible for most of the mines production. The east-west mineralized zone is generally made up of rich-quartz vein systems that are mainly lenses and veinlets. Most of these veins are regards to be stacked on top of each other and continue to progress with depth to the southerly portion of the underground workings. It within the underground workings that a strong north-striking shear is considered to be exposed along the underground workings and not on surface. A small portion of this structure is considered to be found along the third level workings of the underground mine area. Underground lateral development had continued to progress towards the development of the vein above the fifth and ninth levels. Much of the work had been aimed towards developing the rich-quartz vein systems along the footwall rock for production purposes. Sampling that was done from the underground workings had resulted in 15.55 g/t Au. per/ton of mineable ore. Samples taken from the mill vein material resulted in grades that range in excess of 93.31 g/t Au. per/ton with an average grade of 21.71 g/t Au. Further metallurgical tests were done from a 100 ton bulk sample brought to the surface that average 6.22 g/t Au.
It was on the easterly part of the claim group that further prospecting had continued to define the area by geologically mapping it. Stripping during this period took place in order to further expose the veins potential for a length of 97.54-meters. Most of this resulted in making predictions towards the strike of the vein system that run diagonally across slope of the hill and runs into the swamp on both ends. The strike is south to 50° degrees east and has a dip of approximately 60° degrees to the northeast. Conclusions made on the vein reported it have an average width of 0.91 meter that had been channel sampled for a length of 73.15-meters. Upon assaying the vein material it had showed medium to high-grades provided in the chart.
The Parkhill Gold Property is made up of F-2 sheared zone that is occupied by minor alterations of hornblende. That's biotite rich. It also consists of quartz stringers that are associated with F2 sheared structures accompanied by minor oxidization. The sheared F2 formation is continuous with the other sheared structures that's occupied by F3 to F4 shear zones of the Jubilee Stock and granitoid plutons stocks which are altercated. Altercation takes place due to plagioclase feldspar, sericite, nickel, albite, and biotite geological mixture. Continuation of the gold deposit is hosted within the Michipicoten Greenstone belt of the Wawa assemblage. Contact changes are occupied by plagioclase greywack formations that change into altercated F3 to F4 sheared zones due to higher elevation. Process associated with the Jubilee Stock are made up of high temperature pressure with much lower to medium temperatures that make up crystallization.
Samples taken are quite high due to multiple factors related to the geological structure at the Parkhill Gold Deposit in Wawa, The first of these factors is related to shear structure with a deformation zone that is between F2 and F3 shear zones that are granodiorite rich and resemble same characteristics as Hemlo Gold Deposits. Altercations also take place due to jasperoidal conclusions and biotite rich facies formation along with hornblende nickel deposition. These depositions are caused by slight organic state that is volcanic massive sulphide rich containing pyrite, nickellite, and copper that's observed.
Another fascinating Iron Mine that became discovered within the hard rock of the Algoma Region, was commonly known as the Josephina Iron Mine. Much of this whole entire iron discovery was first uncovered by a legendary prospector known as Alois Goetz in 1899. Further examination of this claim was no being down in 1901 when three holes became drilled and obtained 618 feet of core sample from the ground. Soon enough Alois Goetz decided to sub-contract another driller by the name of E.V Clergue Et Al. who had started on a massive drilling program of 21 drill holes that obtain another 11,788 feet of core sample to be further assayed. Nevertheless, once the property had proven to be worthy enough it was optioned to the Algoma Steel Corporation who had commence further development. Company officials who had obtain the optional rights to mining this claim had started on developing two shafts between 1901 and 1903. The very first of these massive shafts to come into production was sunken on the South side of Parks Lake where it had rested 150 feet below the ground. Development of the next company shaft would be situated to the east of Parks Lake where it had been drilled and blast to about 50 feet below the ground. Five more diamond drill holes soon became accomplished when the Algoma Steel Corporation was in search of more resources. But the results turned out to be not so encouraging so the Josephine Iron Mine was officially abandoned for the first time in history. As the two shafts started to boom a railway line was soon added to transport all the ore to the Michipicoten Harbour where it would be then shipped to the furnace in Sault Ste Marie. All of this was being serviced by the rapid growing Algoma Central Railway who had establish a spur line to the Josephine Mine in 1906
Another promising opening was made in 1940, when the Frobisher Exploration Company, Limited, and the Sherritt Gordon Mines Limited, had undertook further exploration and development of the old Josephine Iron Mine. A mill was also developed by the previous owners that became situated 2 kilometers from the Josephine Stop on the Algoma Central Railway.
When the mine was first discovered it was commonly known a massive shaft operation that had another sub-shaft which became used as an air ventilation. Soon the Frobisher Exploration Company Limited and the Sherritt Gordon Mines Limited had started further development of a mining camp. Some of the main building which became used during this time period had included two bunk houses, a Cookery with a dining room, office, garage, blacksmith shop, dry house, and Compressor house. Company officials had also started on developing the much need machinery when they had installed the 1,000 cubic foot Ingersoll-Rand Compressor. The company had also started on a whole new surface diamond drilling phase that had obtain another 6,506 feet of core sample from the ground. During 1938, all production and development was soon suspended by the previous owners but would once again be brought into production in 1941. Most of the work that was performed by the two companies had started to dewater the main shaft once again as further extractions were being done from the mine.
From previous years of operating much of the ore was being hoisted from a two compartment vertical shaft that was sunken to a depth of 400 feet below the ground. Almost all development within the mine was strongly known to have occurred within the first level that was driven on the 235 foot level. Another station was also constructed below that level which was stationed at 375 feet. The previous owners who had operated the Josephine mine had mainly opened up this level by establishing 650 feet of drifting, 118 feet of crosscutting, and 375 feet of raising was also develop. No development from the two companies had escalated during 1941, but the company's 100 ton mill was in operation as testing's were being done.
The two extraction corporations had soon face a massive blow when the mine was not producing enough power to operate all the need components. So nevertheless, the Frobisher Exploration Company Limited and the Sherritt Gordon Mines Limited had came up with the idea of developing a power plant on site. After two months of planning this idea the two companies were now underway in developing the much need power supply station. Once the whole entire foundation and building was completed they could now install the proper machinery to provide more power to the mine. All of this had included the installation of a Atlas Polar 2-cycle, 2 cylinder, 125 horsepower diesel engine, that had a belt connected to a Westington 100 K.va, 60 cycle, 550 volt, 3 phase electrical generator. This section also had contributed a concentrator station that had an 18 foot thickener, a wood stave tank for the thickener, a 4 foot Dorr duplex classifier, and 8 Denver No. 15 floatation cells.
In 1943, the two companies had mostly focused on sinking the shaft further within the ground and also exploring the first and third level stations. Almost all of this phase was completed when the company had found further reserves from a small scale diamond drilling program within these sections. Once the shaft had sank further within the hard rock, the two companies had then started on developing another station that was known as the 6th level. However, the company had needed to drill one diamond drill hole through the main vein zone before developing a crosscut section. Most of this was cause because the company had feared that there may be water within this section of the mining operation. With no indications of water being present the two companies had now commence further development within this section as a huge crosscut was driven through the ore bearing zone. Once the whole entire crosscutting stage was completed, the company had then started constructing drifts that ran parallel with the vein. Further crosscutting was also achieved by the end of the year on other mining levels that included 1st, 3rd, and 5th levels. A huge amount of ore was said to have been extracted during this development that had estimated to contain 1,271,000 tons of ore.
By 1944, the two companies had started further lateral development within the last three bottom levels. Much of all the production was however being focused on the 6th level as a nice high grade deposit was being work on. Unlike the 6th level, the 5th and 4th weren't considered to be that profitable in resources material. When further development had escalated within the 6th level, the company had soon encountered over 1,200 feet of continuous ore that was waiting to be opened up by the method of stoping procedures. Many raises also became driven by the two companies that was constructed from the 5th level to the 6th level, and one raise was also driven on up to the 4th level horizon. Company officials had mainly designed these raises to further explore the main vein zones and to also conduct stoping in the near future A huge amount of tonnage was said to have been extracted from this whole development procedure that was strongly known to have double the output in 1943. Even the ore was said to have been pretty high-grade from this section of the mining operation during 1944.
A small pilot mill was said to have also been operating during this time period that was used for processing many different types of ore bodies from different locations of the mine. The two companies had also done a number of sinister testing's that became achieved within the Pilot Mill Facility. As the mine started to boom the company was now retrieving a huge amount of ore that was ready to be shipped to the nearby steel furnaces for testing in order to maintain the right conditioning. Another huge exploration phase was being place within this mining zone that had soon obtain 7,198 feet of core sample that was to be examined. This whole entire core sample that was taken from the rock had indicated that the reserve was still extremely rich in Iron content to commence further development.
Once the whole entire Lake was officially drained a massive amount of development was taking place on the Josephine Mine site between 1943 and 1944. Further examination of the rich hematite ore had proven to contain a high end resource zone that still had 3,840,000 tons of ore to be mined. A small company town was also developed as the small isolated mine didn't have roadways designed yet. Some of the many structures that became apart of this whole construction phase had included engineering many supporting buildings, private homes, stores, and a school was also erected from all this development. As world War 2 had came upon the nation the hematite ore was proven to be very needed in making harden steel. All of this would end up sending company officials on another mission when the three compartment shaft was sunken further below the surface to about 1,225 feet. Eight massive long size levels became the key workings to extract this rich material which was needed during world war 2. In addition the company also constructed a sump that was to known have been cut at the 7th level. Production from the Josephine mine was strongly considered to be quite heavy till 1946 had cause all production to suddenly stop when a stope which was located on the mines 600 foot level had caved in, that had permanently flooded in all the mine workings and the mine was never brought back into production.
Another testing was conducted by the Michipicoten Iron Mine who decided to conduct a small drilling program on the east end of the property in 1950. After obtaining 8,822 feet of core sample the mine wasn't proven to be worthy enough to re-open. Some more testing's had eventually became completed when the Algoma Steel Corporation had also decided to complete a small scale drilling program on a separate mining claim that proven to be not rich enough to commence further operations. So the Josephine Iron Mine was no longer in production when the iron prices had suddenly dropped significantly and many of the mines also folded.
Minto- Jubilee-Cooper Gold Mines - Ore-body maybe undeveloped in the Jubilee shaft area at a depth of 553 feet- Gold Grades are known to average 0.35 ounces per a tonne in the Minto property area.
A picture of Minto Gold Mine back in the early years of operation
1897 - Gold Discovery made by S. Berailldt, and sold to Dion TIlsdale, within that same time period.
1923 - Staked by Wawa Gold Mining Syndicate
Explorations at the time had commenced on this property when trenching, and test pitting was completed on a quartz vein showing gold values. Further prospecting of the area had resulted in the development of the No. 1 shaft operations. Shaft sinking within this time period had continued to a depth of 120 feet below the surface. There was also a level which became constructed, and cut at a depth of 87 vertical feet. It was at this time when the 87 foot level was becoming extended by 90 feet of station cutting, 794 feet of drifting to the north, and another 1,024 feet of drifting to the south. In total lateral development the company had completed 1,908 feet of drifting at the time.
1926 - Staked by Cooper Gold Mines, Limited
Mining operations at the time were being confined to the Cooper, and Minto block holdings in Township 29, Range 23, Algoma District. Development at the time was being focus on sinking the No. 1 and 2 shaft operations. The No. 1 shaft was rather being developed in the middle of claim. No. 3132. Shaft sinking was reported to have been completed by the former operators, and was known to be a two compartment shaft, 11 by 5 feet, inclinded at 45 degrees. At the time it stated that the vertical depth was 95 feet, and the inclined was 120 feet. There was also a level which became constructed, and cut at a depth of 87 vertical feet. It was at this time when the 87 foot level was becoming extended by 90 feet of station cutting, 794 feet of drifting to the north, and another 1,024 feet of drifting to the south. In total lateral development the company had completed 1,908 feet of drifting at the time.
Development within this time period was mainly being focus on the Minto Claim Block that was staked on claim No.3132. Shaft sinking on this claim block had started on October, 1926, and was completed by January 1927. The Minto shaft was rather constructed as a vertical, three compartment shaft 14 by 6 feet, and 6 inches. It was addtionally sunken to a depth of 340 feet, and stations were being cut on the mines 121, 212, and 321 foot levels, which carried down into a 19 foot sump. A huge amount of development continued to expand mining operations at this site. By this time the first level at 121 feet became opened up by 20 feet of station cutting, and 14 feet of crosscutting. Another level at 221 feet was also opened up by 21 feet of station cutting, 187 feet of crosscutting, 81 feet of drifting to the north, and 80 feet to south. Even more openings were made when the 321 foot level became extended by 35 feet of station cutting, 91 feet of crosscutting, 205 feet of drifting to the north, and 76 feet to south of the workings.
Diamond drilling was also extensive at this time period when 2,533 feet of drilling was done on claim No.3132, of the Minto Block, and 1,246 feet on claim No. 3090 of the Copper Block.
1927 - Cooper Gold Mines, Limited
Mining operations on the Cooper, and Minto Blocks were considered to have escalated at a rapid pace. During 1927, the Cooper Gold Mines, Limited had did a considerable amount of development on both shaft operations within these two blocks. Almost all development was rather expanding the levels of the No. 2 shaft, which was located on the Minto Block. The 121 foot level was further expanded into the workings by 90 feet of station cutting, and 2,016 feet of drifting, and crosscutting. Far more development also continued to develop the 221 foot level by 21 feet of station cutting, 1,062 feet of drifting, and crosscutting, and 132 feet of raising was done. Further expanding had also taken place on the 321 foot level, when it was now opened up by 35 feet of station cutting, 1,123 feet of drifting, and crosscutting, and 168 feet of raising was establish..All mining operations at the Minto Gold Mine became stop, and the pumps were pulled, which allowed the shaft to fill with water. Most of this became establish as the company was preparing to develop a milling facility in order to treat the ore. Diamond drilling on the Minto Property had totalled 2,533 feet in length at the time of exploring this property.
Another section which was apart of the this whole entire operation had work under the Jubilee Mine project. Shaft sinking continued to take place on the No. 1 Minto Mine shaft operation which was sunken further from the 120 foot level to a depth of 375 feet below the surface This whole entire expanding procedure had resulted in cutting new levels at 185, and 285 feet below the shaft collar. Company statements predict that the Jubilee Shaft will reach its own depth of 550 feet below the surface. Diamond drilling on the Jubilee Property was stated to have consisted of 9,197 feet in length.
Some more work was being commenced on November, 1, 1927, when the company was making a clearing on claim No. 3400. Most of this was being in order to make room for another shaft, and to develop the much need structures. This whole entire land clearing procedure resulted in the building of several structures, and the machinery from the Mintp Mine was moved, and installed at this location. Sinking of the Jubilee No. 2 shaft was officially commenced on December, 13, 1926.
Much of the power plant was also upgraded with additional compressor capacity which was installed at the Jubilee Mine. Other company statements had stated that it was duplicate of the Minto 720 cubic foot, PRB, Canadian Ingersoll Rand Compressor. Some more reports state that this compressor was acquired from the W.J 9 operation of the Huronia Belt Company. Additional drilling was also completed on the Cooper Property, which had a total length of 1,346 feet.
1928 - Copper Gold Mines, Limited
Cooper Gold Mines, Limited had held a total of 24 claims, which were known as the Cooper, and Minto Block, that comprised of 830 acres. Work at the time was being confined to the Minto Vein, and the shaft was also being dewatered. A huge amount of later development had occurred when the company completed 4,785 feet of drifting, and crosscutting, and a total of 59,000 tonnes of ore was fully developed.
Even more Structures became developed when the company had started construction phase of a 20 ton test mill near the Jubilee Shaft. Almost all development of this mill had started on December, 1928, and was completed on February, 1929. More so the purpose for developing this mill was to carry out a series of bulk sampling tests on the ore of the Jubilee break.
1929 - Cooper Gold Mines, Limited
A huge amount of changes were being made during this time period of operating the Jubilee Mine Site. Development within the Jubilee shaft was now further expanding the shaft workings even more.
Shaft sinking had continued when the Jubilee Shaft was now reaching its own depth of 459 feet below the surface. As the mine continued to expand, the Cooper Gold Mines, Limited had started sinking an internal winze shaft below the fourth level, and continued below the newly developed 5th level. There was also a total of 50 miners who became employed under the direction of John Knox Jr. who was the company's manager.
Total lateral development ending March, 1930
Level Station Cutting drifting Crosscutting raising winzing
2nd ------------------- 737 feet 521 feet ------------ ------------
3rd ------------------- 708 feet 549 feet 46 feet
4th ------------------- 332 feet 889 feet 94 feet 123 feet4
5th 1,776 feet 626 feet 745 feet 43 feet -------------
All mining operations by the Cooper Gold Mines, Limited became suspended March, 29, 1930,
1930 - Minto, and Jubilee Claims optioned by John Knox. Jr from the Cooper Gold Mines, Limited.
It was in June, 1930, when Mr. John Knox Jr. had continued to operate the newly option Jubilee, Minto, and Cooper Properties. Mining operations at the time were also decided to work the Minto property at the time. This also resulted in the removal of all the equitment, and 20 tonne mill to the Minto Property from the Jubilee. Even more machinery was also purchased in order to equip the 75 tonne cyanide mill, and also a single drum electrical hoist. It was by December, 31, 1930, when a mill building that was 97 by 56 feet, had been erected, and was 75% complete of the necessary installations. Other installations had consisted of a compressor, hoist, transformer, and motors for the mining plant. No additional underground work was reported to have been done on the Minto Mine during this time period.
1931 - Incorporation of the Minto Gold Mines, Limted.
Minto Gold Mines, Limited was incorporated on July 1930, with an authorized capital of 8,000 shares of no par value. Company officials from the Minto Gold Mines, Limited had taken over the option rights from John Knox Jr, who had obtained them from the Cooper Gold Mines, Limited on March, 1931.
It was during this time period when the mill was officially completed, and the underground workings at the Minto Mine became dewatered to the first level. This resulted in the opening of two stope sections on the first level of this mining operation. Almost all development and production within these two stope sections had produce 9,449 tonnes of ore from open-stope methods. Production within this time period had treated all the ore in the cyanide mill, which produce 3,521 ounces of gold.
The whole entire mining equipment was strongly known to have consisted of 36 by 24 inch divided drum electric hoist, which operated a cage, and counterbalance, and an air compressor with a capacity of 720 cubic feet. Even the cyanide mill had included a wide variety of equipment that included a Jaw Crusher, a ball mill, 3 Deister double deck Tables, a concentrate-regrind mill, a 30 foot Dorr Thickener, two 18 by 16 foot Dorr Agitators, and a 6 by 4 foot American Filter. All mining operations were being done by the direction of John Knox Jr who was the president, with William Hocking as mill superintendent, and Frank McClennan was the mine captain.
Electrical Power was also reported to have been obtained from High Falls, which was operated by New Algoma District Power Company. Some of the installations on the power plant had included a 50 H.P gasoline engine in order to act as a standby power source in case of a power failure.
1932 - Minto Gold Mines, Limited
Production from the Minto Gold Mine was rather considered to have been continued throughout 1932. It was within this time period when mining operations were confined to the first level stope sections within the first four months. Production from the first level stopes had hoisted a total of 6,229 tonnes of ore, that was treated at the 75 ton cyanide mill. After the four months it was stated that production was being confined to the second level stopes of the Minto Gold Mine. Hoisting from the second level stopes had totalled 12,537 tonnes of ore which were mined, and milled. This resulted in the milling of 18,766 tonnes of ore within this time period of operating. No other development was done on the workings as these area were constructed by the previous operators. More additions to the plant equipment had included a link belt vibrating screen, which became installed in order to by pass fines around the crusher.
1933 - Minto Gold Mines, Limited
Milling was rather continued through out the year as the mine was very productive during this time period. For the most part mining operations had mainly been confined to stoping procedures with no development taking place. From all production the company was able to hoist 23,671 tonnes of ore that was treated at the 75 tonne cyanide mill. This was rather all extracted from the first, and second levels of the historical Minto Gold Mine Project. Employment within the Minto Mine had consisted of a workforce of 39 miners within this time period of operating the Minto Gold Mine Project.
1934 - Minto Gold Mine, Limited
All underground mining operations at the Minto Gold Mine were reported to have Suspended on May, 1934. Before mining operations had closed down the company produce 10,243 tonnes of ore that was taken from three levels. No other development on the mine had commenced during this time period, and a total of 1,035 feet of surface diamond drilling was done. Much of the ore at the time had also went through a primary crusher, where it was then transported by trucks to the 75 tonne cyanide mill. Most of these closings occurred because the company was preparing operations at the Jubilee Mine once again. In addition to this it was also stated that all the mining equipment was now transferred to the historical Jubilee Mine Site. Underground work at the historical Jubilee Gold Mine was officially started in late July, 1934. Almost all stoping procedures were once again commenced on the third level, from which the company was able to obtain 11,949 tonnes of ore All the ore that came from the Jubilee Mine was dumped into the preliminary crusher, and transported by trucks to the 75 tonne cyanide mill at the Minto Mine. Even the whole entire plant at the time had included a 730 cubic foot ingersoll Rand electrically driven compressor, and hoist. A workforce of 42 miners were also employed under the same dirctors within this time period of switching mining operations.
1935 - Minto Gold Mines, Limited
Mining operations by the Minto Gold Mines, Limited had continued to operate the Jubilee Gold Property within this time period. Much of the whole entire shaft was dewatered, and open-stoping was done on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th levels. An upgrade was also made to the Minto Gold Mine when the mill was now exceeding a production rate of 100 tonnes. All the ore was also being transported from the Jubilee Mine Property to the historical Minto Gold Mine Mill. Milling within 1935 had been operated 340 days, and treated a total of 43,890 tonnes of ore. All the ore which came from the Jubilee Mine was obtained from the 2nd, 3rd, and 4 levels of the Jubilee Mine Site.
Further development continued on the Jubilee Mine when a 150 foot raise was driven from the second level to the surface. Additionally there was also 30 feet of drifting done on the third level, and 63 feet on the fourth level. A small amount of work was now commenced on the Cooper Property which was rather an extention to the Jubilee, and Minto Blocks. Previous operates at the time had sunk the Cooper Shaft to a depth of 65 feet on a 45 degree angle. Even more development occurred when a power line was constructed from the Jubilee-Stanley Lines, to the old Cooper Shaft. Other building that became developed had included a compressor house, bunk-house, and cookery. A 310 cubic foot compressor was installed but became suspended shortly after.
1936 - Minto Gold Mines, Limited
Most of the work within this time period was mainly being confined to the Jubilee Mine site during 1936/ For the most part the company confined their operations to open-stoping that was done on 3rd, 4th, and 5th levels. A huge amount of ore was also hoisted from the workings that totalled 39,385 tonnes of ore, which became transported by trucks to the 100 ton cyanide mill at the Minto Property. Production from the 100 tonne cyanide mill had treated the indicated ore that was hoisted within this time period of operating. No other development work was done on Jubilee, Minto, and Cooper Properties.
1937 - Minto Gold Mine, Limited
Production from the Jubilee Mine continued when the Minto Gold Mines, Limited had extracted the ore from open-topes. Ore from the Jubilee Mine was also still being transported to the 100 ton cyanide mill at the Minto Property. A total of 15,577 tonnes of ore was hoisted, and milled at the Minto Property location. The whole entire milling facility at the Minto Property had continuously operated for a total of 144 days. Almost all the ore extracted within this time period had came from the fourth, and fifth levels. After treating a small amount of ore the property was reported to have shut-down for the balance of the year.
1938 - Minto Gold Mines, Limited
It was within this time period when all mining operations at the Jubilee Mine had once again resumed on May, 23, 1938. There was also a new ore-shoot which was discovered on the 5th level of the historical Jubilee Mine Site. With this discovery made the company continued to expand the 5th level by 537 feet of drifting, and crosscutting, and 170 feet of raising. Diamond drilling within the Jubilee Property had consisted of three underground holes, totalling a length of 213 feet. All hoisting procedures from the Jubilee Mine were reported to have commenced on September, 4, and had totalled 2,962 tonnes. All the ore at this time was still being transported by trucks to the 100 tonne cyanide mill on the Minto Property..
Mining operations once again had commenced on the Cooper Property that had a shaft sunk to a depth of 65 feet. Further development within this time period was aimed at slashing the shaft in order to make it into a two compartment shaft operation. This whole entire development procedures resulted in the opening of a level at 50 feet below the surface. Even more development commenced when the shaft was extended by 210 feet of drifting into the workings. Development of the level had also resulted in open-stoping procedures, and a total of 4,889 tonnes of ore was extracted, and treated at the Minto Mill. Other explorations also took place when the company completed 200 feet of surface trenching to a depth of 5 feet. A new timbered frame, and ore-bins were also constructed on the Cooper Gold Property.
1939 - Minto Gold Mines, Limited
Mining operations at the Jubilee Mine had continued to operate til June. 14, 1939, when the mine became abandoned. No additional development was considered to have been done on the Jubilee Mine that year, and nothing also occurred at the Cooper Mine Property. The two compartment shaft on the Jubilee Property, which inclined at an angle of 33 degree, was 541 feet deep. It also had levels cut, and stationed on the mines 185, 285, 405, and 553 feet below the surface. Other statements had stated that the 2 compartment No. 1 internal winze shaft, inclined at an angle of 60 degrees, is collared from the fourth level to a depth of 123 feet, at which point the fifth level is cut. Another interal winze shaft known as Winze No. 3 is also collared on the 5th level, and has two compartments, which extends ts to a depth of 60 feet at an angle of 38 degrees.
The information below shows how much lateral development had been completed to date on the Jubilee Mine Property.
Level Drifting Crosscutting
1st level station ----------- -----------------
2nd level 750 feet 470 feet
3rd level 1,260 feet 1,465 feet
4th level 1,000 feet 1,665 feet
5th level 1,160 feet 790 feet
1960 - Staked by Lake Osu Mines, Limited
Another staking was made in 1960, when the Lake Osu Mines, Limited had conducted further explorations on the Minto property. This whole entire exploration procedures lasted 4 years, and had consisted of geological mapping, electromagnetic survey, trenching, and some diamond drilling. It was later purchase in 1962, when the Suluga Gold Mines, Limited had acquired the Minto Property.
1989 - Staked byCitadel Gold Mines, Limited
One last staking on the property was considered to have been made in 1989, when explorations continued. The whole entire exploration procedure had consisted of stripping, and sampling an area west of the Minto Gold Mine Project.
Ore reserves at the Cooper Property were estimated to be 6000 tons Au containing $10 per ton of gold at $20.50 per ounce. The might also be an undeveloped ore-body which was discovered on the 553 foot level of the Jubilee Shaft in 1938.
The ore body consists of a series of anatomosing quartz veins and stringers within a 15-20 m wide shear zone. The host rock is a hybrid breccia which has been extensively sheared and mylonitized. The auriferous veins are a pre-shearing set of an older generation of coarse, glassy-quartz veins. Mylonitized sericite shist within the shear zone also carries gold. A second generation of quartz-tourmaline or pinto quartz veins is practically barren of gold.
The Jubilee Shear Zone shows a close coincidence with the eastern contact between the Jubilee Lake Stock and a distinct intrusive granodiorite breccia. Large scale structures, dikes etc, are truncated by the Jubilee Shear. North of highway 101, the Jubilee Shear paralles the western margin of the Jubilee stock, but in the vicinity of the Jubilee and Surluga Mines, it lies completely within the dioritic stock. it is characterized by an abrupt transition from relatively massive to highly schistose rocks with numerous generations of quartz and carbonate veins. The Jubilee shear appears to be the principle structure in the fracture system involved in the introduction of gold to the system.
Minto Gold Mine Grading
The gold content of the ore averaged 0.33 oz/t Au. The coarsely crystalline ankerite in the vein contains pyrite, chalcopyrite and pyrrhotite and reportedly gives fair gold assays.
Surluga Gold Mine -A few wrong indications - The Mine treated a total 29,758 tonnes of ore, which produce 10,000 ounces of gold, and 2,300 ounces of silver from 1968 to 1969. Information can be obtain on this project.
1951 - Explorations of the Wawa area were being conducted by Thomas Surluga.
Thomas Surluga was commonly known as a famous prospecting legend that discovered a famous gold vein near Wawa, Ontario, Canada. This famous wilderness explorer wasn't known as a Canadian, as he was born in Krizisce, Croatia, but had set sail for Northern, Ontario, Canada in hopes of building his dreams. He eventually had obtained a steady job working for a contracting crew who was in need of more men in order to complete the Michipicoten High Falls Power Dam. Once Thomas Surluga had obtained enough capital, he had decided to enter the prospecting game when he hired his own geologist for $2.50 a day. His newly hired business companion was strongly recognized as Cliff Miller who would end up taking Surluga through the dense wilderness of Catfish Creek and Black Trout Lake. As the two had settled in, they started the long portage journey down the Magpie River, These two brave individuals would also have to face the heavy currents of wicked rapids that came with this river. But these two eager prospectors became a lot more smarter then most individuals when they came up with an idea of by passing them by portaging around them. They also wouldn't have to fear of loosing all of their supplies when it came to facing these rapids. After being unsuccessful in this geological zone, the prospector had no choice but to abandoned his own dreams.
1962 - Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd, Acquire property from Thomas Surluga
Nevertheless, Thomas Surluga was once again back at his own dreams when the gold price started to rise once again. As the gold prices had started to rise, Thomas Surluga was once again back at the prospecting game when he decided to settle out for the old abandoned gold mine discoveries that we're located south of Wawa, Lake, In Michipicoten, His second mining journey had all started in 1960, when Thomas Surluga was commonly considered to have staked and re-staked claims that weren't to far away from the Cora and Jubilee Mine Sites. After searching for a possible gold vein the prospector had decided to once again re-stake a claim that he had knew would be profitable. So nevertheless, Thomas Surluga was considered as one of those wealthy type of people who had money to finance a whole entire mining operation. So he himself had eventually struck a deal Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd. for some royalty and cash for the claim. In addition to this, the highly new purchased property would be manage and operated by a Surluga Gold Mines Limited in 1962. It was reported by the company that this incorporation was made on March, 1962, with a capitalization of 5,000,000 shares with no par value. The Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd. had also issued 2,946,681 shares within this time period of operating and preparing this site for development.
The Directors of this company were commonly identified as W.D Sutherland as company president, and director, W. J Loveland as Vice President, and director, W. D Burden as Chairman, and director, C. H. M Mortimer as Secretary Treasurer, and director, N. J Coolidge R. H. Poole, and J. P. C Traine, as directors. Much of the property at the time had comprised of 74 claims within Township 29, Range 23, within the district of Algoma. For the most part the Surluga Gold Mine was also situated 2 miles from Wawa, and less than a mile away from the paved Wawa Hawk Junction Highway. Other properties which became included within this staking had also comprised of the former Minto, and Jubilee Gold Projects.
The Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd was formed in 1963, when it started explorations procedures on its Surluga Gold property. This historical drilling phase was first being carried out by the Company who had obtain 35,819 feet of core sample from a diamond drilling program. As the drill core became officially assayed it was proven to be very profitable in gold ore resources to be considered for further development. All production and Exploration from this company had started when Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd. had decided to do further testings that included geological mapping and another surface diamond drilling program that totalled 8,031 feet of surface core sample. With new results indicating a new deposit zone, the mine was looking very promising for re-opening procedures to once again hit the Wawa Area of Northern Ontario Canada.
1966 - Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd
Mining operations at the Surluga Gold Property had started to progress from July 1, to December 1966. For the most part this included sinking a vertical three compartment No. 1 Shaft to a depth of 960 feet below the shaft collar. As development had progressed, the company would also open up the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th levels. These level all had became establish at depths of 164, 290, 416, 542, 668, 794, and 920 feet below the shaft collar. Explorations on the site had consisted of three diamond drill holes, totalling 150 feet from underground, and two diamond drill holes from the surface, totalling 504 feet. For the most part it was also during this time period when major construction was taking place in efforts of developing this operation. This development procedure had included the construction of a 2 mile power line ,with a 33,000 volt capacity, and 750 KVA Substation. With the mine continuing to expand in development, Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd. would also install a 90 foot steel head-frame that was taken from the No. 3 Algoma Ore Properties. Far more development within this time period would also be follow by the construction of a hoisting room, and compressor room. A mine office, dry, and storage building also became developed, and a contract for this development was issued to the L.E Robinson Development, Ltd.
1967 - Surluga gold Mines, Ltd
Far more development was rather being planned during this time period when the company took over mining operations from the contractors in June. All development within this time period was on expanding underground operations that became access by the No. Vertical, Three Compartment Shaft on claim SSM 59662. Further development planning was also being aimed at installing a loading pocket on the 6th level (920 feet, with an ore pass going up to the first level. Another purchase was also made in 1967, when the company had bought a 750 tonne milling facility at the Chimo Gold Mine. At the time this mill was rather being dismantled and moved to the Surluga Gold Property for processing.
Development during this time period was rather stated to have comprised of 4,143 feet of drifting 3,215 feet of crosscutting, and 551 feet of raising. Diamond drilling within this time period had consisted of 138 diamond drill holes, totaling 12,020 feet in length from underground, and 15 holes, totalling 5,146 feet from the surface. This would also result in far more development when a garage, service building for underground ventilation, a crusher house, screen house, mill foundations, and change house foundations were completed. For the time being the company had also hoisted a total of 9,544 tonnes of ore that was stockpiled. Employment within the mine at the time was being done under the direction of C. A. McLiesh, who employed 28 work personnel.
1968 - Suluga Gold Mines, Ltd
The Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd. had also increased their own shares to 6,000,000 with no par value, in which 4,984,006 shares were issued. All mining operations at the Surluga Property had continued from January, 1 to December, 31st, 1968. Milling was also reported to have been in operation from October, 1st to December, 31, 1968. No changes were made to the depth of the shaft beside expanding the underground workings towards the Jubilee Shear Zone. All development within 1968, had comprised of 2,468 feet of drifting, 1,274 feet of crosscutting, and 1,422 feet of raising. In total lateral development the mine had totalled 6,610 feet of drifting, 4,488 feet of crosscutting, and 1,972 feet of raising. This development was also follow by diamond drilling that consisted of 187 holes from underground, totalling 18,307 feet in length. Far more development work was also escalating on the first, second, third, and fifth levels that were being extend within the Jubilee Shear Zone. From this development a total of 28,968 tonnes was hoisted, and the mill that was purchase from the Chimo Gold Mine in Val D'Or, Quebec, Canada, had treated 21,760 tonnes. Employment at the time was still under the direction of M.C McLeish, who employed a workforce of 74 work personnel.
1969 - Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd ceased mining operations, property acquired by Prado Explorations, Limited. Prado Explorations, Ltd went in a Joint Venture with Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd. The company at the time was also establish under Pagno Gold Mines, Limited as it did not go by the name Prado Explorations, Ltd. No other development work was commenced by the company prior to ceasing mining operations at the end of 1969.
Mining by Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd would continued from January, 1st to Febuary, 28, 1969. The on-site mill was also operated from January, 1 to Febuary, 21, 1969. All mining operations had soon resumed in March of that year when the property was taken over by Pagno Gold Mines, Ltd. For the most part this take over was done because Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd. had encountered finical difficulties, which force the to suspend mining and milling operations. Another company partnership was done in March when Prado Explorations, Limited became apart of this historical gold project.
Development by Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd. had included 159 feet of drifting, and 352 feet of raising. From all of this development the mine had now comprised of 6,759 feet of drifting, 4,448 feet of crosscutting, and 2,352 feet of raising. A total of 8,918 tonnes of ore was hoisted from the underground workings, and the milling facility had treated 7,998 tonnes at a daily average of 150 tonnes.
Pagno Gold Mines, Limited was incorporated on October, 1959, with an authorization of 6,000,000 share with no par value. For the most part the company at the time had also issued a total of 1,650,005 shares in 1969. Prado Explorations, Limited and Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd had also entering into a joint agreement on March 1 of 1969.. This was aimed at conducting an extensive exploration program on the Surluga Gold Property. This resulted in a new company name when Pagno Gold Mines, Ltd was formed, and Prado Exploration would acquire a 65 percent interest in the property. Much of this was done because the company had already spent over $650,000 on the property, and Surluga would receive 35% of the net profits. More claims also became staked when Pagno Gold Mines, Limited had now held 396 claims in Township 28, and 29, Range 23/24, and Township 30, Range 22 within the district of Algoma. All mining operations on the property had progress from March 1st to December, 31, 1969. Some more development was also done when the workings became extended by 3,532 feet of drifts, 3,500 feet of cross-cutting, and 165 feet of raising. Total development footage for the mine was now at 10,302 feet of drifting, 7989 feet of crosscutting, and 2,490 feet of raising. Diamond drilling had consisted of 308 underground holes, totalling 34,781 feet, and 53 surface holes, totalling 29,724 feet in length. A total of 2,598 tonnes of ore was taken from drifting, and crosscutting, which became hoisted and stockpiled for the time being.
Another changes had soon occurred when the Pagno Gold Mines Limited. decided to operate under their very own company name in 1969. Company officials who we're commonly known to have operated the mining operation had decided to conduct extensive exploration procedures that included 1,600 feet of drifting on the 5th level, and another 1,750 feet of crosscutting was also performed on the mines 4th, 5th, and 6th's levels that included some diamond drilling. Between 1968 and 1969, over 30,000 tons of rock was commonly known to have been removed from the mine workings, and had produced 2,300 ounces of silver and also had processed 10,000 ounces of gold from the on site milling facility that wasn't located to far from the mine. Taken from the Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd Annual reporting s, and the Pagno Gold Mines, Ltd Annual Reports.
The Surluga Gold Mine Property would be brought back to life when Pursides Gold Mines, Ltd had continued to outline the deposit further. For the most part this company was rather incorporated on June, 19, 1962, which had operated on the behalf of Surluga Gold Mines, Ltd. It was by 1973, when Pursides Gold Mines, Ltd had reorganized it self, along with the authorized and issued capital of the company. All changes of ownership were strongly stated to have only came into affect when the Surluga Gold Property was drop in 1969. By 1973, the company was well establish when it commence explorations on the Surluga Gold Property in Wawa, Ontario, Canada. By this time the company had also acquired a total of 37 claims, which would later increase its numbers to 74. Some of these claimed areas became known as the Pursides Property prior to exploring the area that surrounded the Surluga Gold Mine.
Much of the early development on the Pursides Property had occurred in 1963, when an option agreement was granted on November, 1963. This whole entire optioning agreement was considered to have been contracted to the Consolidated Mining and Smelting Company of Canada. Far more explorations would then commence when surface diamond drilling by the company had consisted of 20 drill holes, which intersected a mineralization known as the Jubilee Shear. After a small amount of explorations became conducted it was stated that the company had drop the option in 1964, as it was mainly focus on silver mining operations.
The company along with Pagno Exploration, Ltd had sank the three compartment shaft to a depth of 950 feet. This development had resulted in six ore producing levels that were being well planned by its engineers, and geologists. Almost all of this was done after obtaining successful results from the drill core that was driven from the surface. Other problems soon had escalated when the company ran into some difficulties in outlining the gold bearing structures in 1968. Some more problems that came with this was that the grade of the preparatory stope muck did not compare favorably with the grade of the reserves. Another contract was also granted Mr. Chester. J. Kuryliw as a geological consultant, and mine manage. With this taking place the geologist had undertaken geological mapping of the underground workings in order to determine the structural geology, and distribution of the mineralization. As this had taken place the mill had soon processed 124.4 tonnes, grading 0.138 ounces of gold per a tonne, which produce 17.16 ounces of Gold, and had a calculated recovery of 75.2%. Another 232.4 tonnes was tested in November, which graded 0.147 ounces of Au, and had produce 34.16 ounces with a recovery of 93.5%. Prior to this sampling the company had also milled 243.1 tonnes of ore in December, 1969, that had a grade of 0.164 ounces per a tonne of ore with a recovery 95.5%, in which produce 39.86 ounces of Au One last sample was taken in January, 1969, when the mill had treated 127.2 tonnes, grading 0.199 ounces per a tonne of ore, with its own recovery of 86.5%, and had produce 25.31 ounces of Au. After completing the much needed sampling the geologist consultant had determined a mill grade of 0.20 oz of Au, with a recovery grade of 86%. In all production this would also require the company to produce at least 500 tonnes of ore per a day in order to obtain a 10% cash flow. Even more difficulties soon had rise when the company encounter problems in running the used ball mills, and other equipment at the Purside Gold Property . (formerly Surluga Gold Mine). This was rather the financial difficulty that the company ran into as the mill could not treat 500 tonnes of ore.
By February, 1969, the company along with its joint venture partners had decided to close down the on-site milling facility. It was done in order to obtain the right amount of financing in order to commence explorations, and mine development once again. Other reports from the directors had indicated that the geological evaluation of the mine workings was very favorable with the possibility of a larger gold deposit at deeper depths.
There was also a sequent exploration program that became conducted by Pagno Gold Mines, Ltd, which was a subsidiary of the Prado Exploration, Ltd. The whole entire diamond drilling program involved an expenditure of over $1,100,000, which became very successful. Diamond drilling on the fifth, and sixth levels had also indicated a sizable tonnage within the Jubilee Shear Zone. After a short time period it was noted that much the work that was performed by Pagno Gold Mines, Ltd became suspended due to rising prices. Another reason why this was cause was because of the uncertainty concerning the extension of the Federal Government's Emergency Gold Mines Assistance program.
Additionally the company had also obtain the right amount of financing from Ballinderry Exploration, Ltd, under a joint venture agreement. This agreement was made in order to continue mining operation on the sixth level south-westward. Development on the sixth level had continued for two months, in which had extended the gold bearing structure. Before mining operations became suspended the company had drill diamond drill hole 6-769, which was driven ahead of the present faces of the sixth level. Drill results from this hole had indicated 0.22 ounces per a tonne of ore, that covered over a core length of 170.5 feet from 77.5 to 248 feet. After this point it was stated that the drill hole had drifted out of the Jubilee Shear, just past 248 feet.
Geology of the Jubilee Shear Reported by Pursides Mines, Ltd, and Pagno Gold MInes, Ltd
Much of the country rock within this property is known to consist of an intrusive rock complex of Precambrian Age, which is composed of quartz diorite, diorite, syenite, hornblende gabbro, and quartz porphyry. At the Pursides Property, the Jubilee shear is known to be the main geological structure that hosts several gold bearing zones. For the most part the Shear Complex is considered to mainly be made up of sericitic, and chlorite schist, that pinch and swell along the trend. Shear gabbro sills are also known to occur within the hanging walls, and the footwall of the shear structure. At the north end the shear structure was also stated to have strike No 35 degrees E, and at the south end of the workings it strikes N 10 degrees E. In addition to this, the Gold Bearing portions are considered to be silicified and mineralized in a zoning related to depth with gold content, in which generally increases in grade, and volume at depth. All the gold bearing shoots are considered to occur in zones, with the grade being related to the association of mineral zoning. The company also reported that much of the richer gold bearing shoots are known to occur in association with pyrite, and arsenopyrite, Within these sections the pyrite, and arsenopyrite is known for intervening a schist formation between the parallel shoots, which is weakly silicified, and mineralized, that give gold grades of 0.01 to 0.05 Oz of Au/ton. A sheet of different mineralization is also known to occur above the bottom pinch of the shear zone. For example, 0 to 100 feet is known to consist of Galena, Sphalerite, and silver, which contains 0.20 to 0.50 ounces of Au/ton.. The 200 to 400 foot section is commonly known to be made up of Pyrite, and Arsenopyrite, which grades between 0.20 to 0.50 ounces of Au/ton. The weakly mineralized area is known to occur from the 400 to 1000 foot section which is mainly made up of tourmaline, and grades 0.05 to 0.15 ounces of Au/ton.
There are three different types of mineralization that carry gold within the Purside's Property. Much of the weakly mineralized zone that consists of tourmaline is known to average 0.05 to 0.15 ounces of Au/ton. This is also followed by a deeper unexplored quartz arsenic gold bearing zone mineralization that grades 0.20 to 0.50 ounces of Au/ton.
Underground Explorations conducted by Pagno Gold Mines, Ltd, and Pursides Gold Mines, Ltd
Diamond drilling was rather carried out on the fifth, and sixth levels of the Jubilee, and Pagno Zones, was carried out in a regular pattern with flat drill holes spaced at 25 foot intervals, and drilled across the mineralized shear zone. In all calculations in grades, and tonnage, the company also had taken chip samples across the whole entire drift sections. The continuity of the diamond drilling was also stated to have extended for more then half the distance towards a neighbouring section.
Another mine that became discovered not to far from the mining settlement town of Wawa, Ontario, was commonly known as the Van Sickle Gold Mining operation of 1897. Most of this whole entire discovery zone was first stumbled across by a rookie prospector known as Captain W.B Van-Sickle and his companion who came from Missinabie Ontario. He additionally had hired some workers to explore this deposit zone further before it was taken over by the Wawa Syndicate who had optioned this property to another mining firm in 1926.
All ownership of this property was still being controlled by the Wawa Syndicate who leased this claim to the Huron Belt Company and the Pioneer Mining Corporation Ltd. After doing further explorations the company decided to fold and the mine was then being optioned to the Parkhill Gold Mines Ltd. who also didn't do much, so the mine site was eventually sold to L.A Van-Sickle who started commencing his own exploration procedures that would end up discovering a medium scale gold vein. After coming across this huge mining zone the claim was then optioned to another brilliant prospector known as S.B Smith who took this claim to the next level.
S.B Smith himself decided to take things into his own hands when a huge amount of land stripping, road cutting, and trenching procedures had uncovered this vein further that would move onto the next step in 1934. Smith was once again on another mission when he decided to hire twenty people towards this medium scaled operations. After setting up his own crew the prospector had now started developing an incline shaft to about 200 feet below the ground. Ore production from the newly designed S.B Smith Mine was being carried out from two producing levels that became situated on the mines 119, and 261 foot levels. Even the companies employees had to face a rough challenging work force when it came to shaft sinking, and constructing many drifts and crosscuts throughout this production. They also had to familiarize themselves with the use of new technology like water pump operators and drills as experience wasn't crucial like it is today. Development on the mines 1st level had also included 430feet of drifting that took place. Much of the whole entire production was started in 1935, when the company's 100 ton per a day mill was officially operational. Mill production wasn't considered to have lasted long when it had officially closed in 1936 as the mine came to its first closure. Ore extraction from the mines 1st level was said to have removed 6,120 tons of processing material, while another 1,534 tons was taken from the second stope section.
After being officially closed for a few years the mining operation was now flooded and soon staked in 1938 by another firm who was commonly known as the Michipicoten Gold Mines Limited. who had done some of their own exploration studies. Soon enough the company had realized that this mining zone had no profitable earning to develop a mining operation. Company officials who owned the Michipicoten Gold Mines Ltd. had now abandoned mining operations, and salvage the old mill in order to meet mine rehabilitation regulations. By 1961, another mining firm known as the Lake Osu Mines Ltd. had started conducting their very own exploration studies on the silent abandoned gold mine. Some of these testing's had included mapping, geophysical surveying, and a small amount of diamond drilling before the mine was once again abandoned in 1963. One last exploration was soon being commenced in 1980, by the Dunraine Mines Ltd. who had conducted some ground geophysics, mapping and more diamond drilling before also abandoning further production.
Mine production at the former S.B Smith Mine was said to have produced 1,536 ounces of gold and a small production of silver that totalled 95 ounces was also processed at the 100 ton per a day milling facility. No development or production has ever escalated since the mines actual closure in 1936,when ore reserves were said to have exhausted.
Gold was first discovered two and a half miles east of Wawa, Ontario, Canada, on a claim that would become known as The Stanley Gold Mining Project. Unlike other gold mining operations that we're located in the Algoma District, The Stanley Gold Mine wasn't one of those huge producing mines that was first discovered in 1932. Nevertheless, all development was soon taking place in 1933, when a prospector by the name of Stanley Siscoe had obtained full ownership of this property. After purchasing the ground that surrounded this property Stanley Siscoe had also developed his own company that was known as the Stanley Gold Mines Ltd to run this extraction business. His very first development was mainly being focus on the many structures that would be needed to run this gold and silver mining operation. At the time it was believed that this mining operation was owned by Extension Gold Mines Limited who sold this claim to Stanley Siscoe, and his newly incorporated company. Almost all mine development on this property would commence on September,1 1933. Before this occurred the company went through the usual prospecting procedures of trenching the land for a distance of 1,500 feet. As the trench became constructed it was now time to sink the 7 by 12 foot shaft to a depth of 30 feet before work was discontinued following shipment of the much needed machinery. Besides developing the mine the Stanley Gold Mines, Limited would also construct the much needed structures that soon included a Power House, Boiler House, change house, bunkhouse, cookery, office, and stable. At the time the company also place major contracting work in providing electrical power into the mine site from the Jubilee Property that was done by the Great Lakes Power Company. Even employment within 1933, was pretty high as the mining operation consisted of 30 men who became hired on.
All mining operations had continued to take place in 1934, when the plant was constructed, and the installation of electrical power was completed. Within this time period the Stanley Gold Mines, Limited would further sink the 7 by 12 foot shaft that was now reaching a depth of 300 feet. This whole entire development phase would open up two new levels that became cut, and stationed on the mines 123, and 256 foot section. By opening these level that company's workforce soon had constructed 1,425 feet of drifting, and 168 feet of crosscutting on both levels. Company officials had also started further prospecting that included land stripping, and 1,500 feet of trenching was achieved. As production was starting to become overwhelming with stock piled resources, the company was now force to develop a power plant facility which was completed by 1934. With this plant being developed it had now consisted of two electric compressors having a total capacity of 750 cubic feet, a 10 by 12 inch steam ore air hoist, and 48 H.P boiler. Even more development would continue when the company constructed it's very own assaying office, and managers residence.
Within 1935, the Stanley Gold Mine was rather going through another major shut down when all mining operations became suspended by the end of December, 1934, following the death of Stanley Siscoe. He was rather known as an investor that was privately financing this mining operation at the time. Before this major shut down had occurred the shaft was reaching a depth of 300 feet, with level cut, and stationed on the mine 123, and 256 foot sections. Further in developing these levels the company's workforce had officially constructed 648 feet of drifting, and 97 feet of crosscutting on the 123 foot level, and 778 feet of drifting, and 71 feet of crosscutting on the 256 foot level. As the property became suspended it had remain idle until December, 29, 1935 when the No. 1 shaft was dewater in preparation for resumption of underground work. At the time most of the ore was commonly being stock piled as the mine didn't have it's own milling facility developed yet.
Mining operations at the Stanley Gold Mine we're continued throughout 1936, when the No, 1 shaft was now reaching it's own depth of 392 feet as sinking still continued. With the shaft now reaching a depth of 392 feet, the company would soon develop a new level on the mines 360 foot section. With this development started the company would now place stopes on the 123 foot level in July. The first level that was located at 123 feet was very well developed that included 648 feet of drifting, 139 feet of crosscutting, and 125 feet of raising. Even more development continued on the mines 256 foot level when a total of 778 feet of drifting, and 81 feet of crosscutting was completed. As the mine continued to expand at depth the third level that was located on the 360 foot level became opened up by 273 feet of drifting.
With the ore piles becoming extremely high the company had no choice but to engineer it's very own 50 tonne amalgamation milling facility in July, 1936. As development was nearly finish the company would install the required components that included 7 by 11 inch jaw crusher, 4 by 4 foot Marcy Ball Mill, 2 wilfley tables, and 6 blanket tables. In addition to this the company was able to mill a total of 1,963 tonnes of ore, which the recovery was 83.802 ounces Au.
Another change would soon occur towards this project in 1937, when the Stanley Gold Mines, Limited had declared bankrupt. Mining within the Stanley Gold Mine was continued till December, 1937 when surface work was suspended, and the 50 tonne amalgamation mill continued to process the ore till March 1937
The Goudreau Gold mine was rather known as a an allied name for the Murphy Gold Mining Project which was first discovered by P. Murphy in 1921. Although the mine was shortly after sold to two other mining firms that became known as the Porter Gold Mines and the Goudreau Gold Mines Ltd. Some exploration studies had now slowly started to take progress when company officials conducted pitting and trenching procedures. These exploration studies had soon indicated a profitable discovery zone within this claim. So the future mine site was later known as the Goudreau Gold Mine when the two companies clashed together to form one resource extraction business. Production and development was now being focus on the main vein zones that would end up establishing the first company shaft. The No. 1 Goudreau Mine shaft was strongly known to be the most productive within the claim. It was commonly reported to have went down to about 400 vertical feet below the surface and also had three ore producing levels. Each of these thriving mining levels we're strongly recognized for being situated on the mine's 100, 200, and 400 foot levels. Soon another productive shaft was being constructed to a vertical depth of 200 feet and was considered to have connected with the No.1 shaft from the 200 foot level. As development continue the mining zone was now known for holding a world class development that contributed 2,571 feet of drifting and 1,142 feet of crosscutting. Production from the Murphy Gold Mine was now becoming so over whelming that the Goudreau Gold Mines Limited. had to design a milling compound to treat this ore. All development within the Goudreau Gold Mine was said to have been non engineered like most mining operations. But all had soon fell to short for the company so the mine was officially closed down in 1927, after being in production for about 5 years. The reason for this closure was caused because the ore reserves had proven to be extremely weak within production. During this time period the Goundrea Gold Mines Limited had underwent further surface and diamond drilling phase to uncover any potential reserves that may have been missed.
Goudreau had a rather modest beginning as a siding on the Algoma Central Railway (ACR). In its early days, it contained a tiny station and section houses for ACR employees in 1912. Mineral explorations indicated traces of gold, silver, copper, and iron pyrite and many prospectors began to move into the area. It was this frenzy of prospecting that helped form Goudreau which developed into a dropping off point and supply post for numerous prospectors. By 1921 there were 80 residents living in Goudreau. Most either worked for the railway as section men or prospected in the local bush. The Lake Superior Corporation leased the first mine to Nichols Chemicals, a company that fabricated sulphuric acids prior to and during the First World War. After the war ended, markets collapsed and the mine closed down. The first gold mine to open was the Emily, situated on the shores of Dog Lake. Later other mines such as the Algold, Algoma Summit, and the Edward, went into production. The Edward mine was the only property that didn't support a town site.
The village of Goudreau grew to contain up to 200 residents. The community consisted of a hotel, two stores, a one room school, a garage, a make shift bank, boarding houses, a two storey station and numerous houses. Some creative residents also ran a movie theatre, as well as a steam bath. The cost of each was 25 cents. A post office, situated in a store, opened in 1915 and lasted until 1966.
Goudreau also experienced one serious robbery. First there was an attempted hijack outside Goudreau. The mine-manager left town with pay packets for the Cline Mine employees. Then he encountered a roadblock where he saw sign that simply read "Not to go forward or else..." There were further instructions to drop the case, turn around and leave. The manager complied in part but instead left with the money. Not to be easily daunted, the perpetrators robbed the safe, situated in Goudreau, and blew it up in the woods. Neither the money nor the thieves were ever found. Like so many gold mining areas in Canada, Goudreau's demise started with the Second World War. As war efforts demanded iron, nickel and steel, gold became unimportant and lost its special status. Area mines struggled on with mounting war costs and labour shortages until they all slowly closed down. Goudreau's closure was delayed somewhat when it was decided that German POWs would be housed there during the Second World War.
Goudreau had a rather modest beginning as a siding on the Algoma Central Railway (ACR). In its early days, it contained a tiny station and section houses for ACR employees in 1912. Mineral explorations indicated traces of gold, silver, copper, and iron pyrite and many prospectors began to move into the area. It was this frenzy of prospecting that helped form Goudreau which developed into a dropping off point and supply post for numerous prospectors. By 1921 there were 80 residents living in Goudreau. Most either worked for the railway as section men or prospected in the local bush.
The Lake Superior Corporation leased the first mine to Nichols Chemicals, a company that fabricated sulphuric acids prior to and during the First World War. After the war ended, markets collapsed and the mine closed down. The first gold mine to open was the Emily, situated on the shores of Dog Lake. Later other mines such as the Algold, Algoma Summit, and the Edward, went into production. The Edward mine was the only property that didn't support a town site.
The village of Goudreau grew to contain up to 200 residents. The community consisted of a hotel, two stores, a one room school, a garage, a make shift bank, boarding houses, a two storey station and numerous houses. Some creative residents also ran a movie theatre, as well as a steam bath. The cost of each was 25 cents. A post office, situated in a store, opened in 1915 and lasted until 1966.
Goudreau also experienced one serious robbery. First there was an attempted hijack outside Goudreau. The mine-manager left town with pay packets for the Cline Mine employees. Then he encountered a roadblock where he saw sign that simply read "Not to go forward or else..." There were further instructions to drop the case, turn around and leave. The manager complied in part but instead left with the money. Not to be easily daunted, the perpetrators robbed the safe, situated in Goudreau, and blew it up in the woods. Neither the money nor the thieves were ever found.
Like so many gold mining areas in Canada, Goudreau's demise started with the Second World War. As war efforts demanded iron, nickel and steel, gold became unimportant and lost its special status. Area mines struggled on with mounting war costs and labour shortages until they all slowly closed down. Goudreau's closure was delayed somewhat when it was decided that German POWs would be housed there during the Second World War.
Another attempt at getting this project re-operation was done in 1927, by the direction of C.S Johnston who had sub-contracted the New Goudreau Gold Mines Ltd. This newly established company was now underway further exploration studies that included surface exploration studies and diamond drilling. After two years of not being able to find a profitable discovery zone, the mine was later purchased by the Bennett Pacaud Mines Ltd in 1930. The company however also did not do much work on this mining zone besides dewatering the No.1 shaft and constructing two more sub-levels. As exploration studies on these veins didn't indicate any profitable resources, the mine was completely shut down once again. After one full year of working this project, the company had made this mine lapse and all ownership was given to the Algold Mines Ltd. in 1934. Unlike the other company this massive exploration company had other plans in taking this mine to the next level. These newly engineered plans had soon started to dewater the main company shaft where this company would try its luck in uncovering more gold deposits from 932 feet of drifting. After being unsuccessful like the two previous mining companies, the Goudreau Mine was once again becoming lapsed as no production was taking place. another attempt was at getting this mine productive was performed in 1937, when a pile of raising and crosscutting was in progress. All of this newly designed development would end up creating 2,075 feet of crosscutting and 95 feet of raising before all mining became abandoned.
After being unsuccessful the Murphy Gold Mining Project was re-staked by another firm in 1940, who went by the name Norgold Mines Limited. These fascinating exploration researchers were now collecting a 400 bulk sample from the mine and had also started on a deep mine drilling program. But nothing encouraging was ever reported to start full scale mining again. So the mine was later purchased by the Golden Algoma Mines Ltd. who had started dewatering and sampling the Murphy Gold Mine Deposit. Additionally they also started on a huge diamond drilling program that was aimed towards underground deposit zone. The very first of these drillings was conducted when 58 underground diamond drill holes had obtained 5,444 feet of core sample. Another drilling program was established in 1960, and had obtained 5,459 feet of core sample from 15 diamond drill holes. Nevertheless the mine was once again abandoned till another company took ownership of the claim. This huge change had occurred in 1986, when the Mascot Gold Mines Limited acquired this property. Exploration was once again underway by this company who started conducting trenching, ground geophysics, mapping, and 12 diamond drill holes totalling 1900 meters in the first year. After being unsuccessful at finding any more profitable zones, the company try another drilling program in 1987 but also failed to disclose anymore ore bodies hidden within the rugged hills. Some other explorations had also been establish on this claim prior to it being officially abandoned. All of this work had taken place from 1987 to 2003 when the mine was once again abandoned. The Murphy Mine was additional known for extracting 2,450 ounces of gold and 351 ounces of silver from 23,211 tons of extracted rock. All of this gold recovery production was said to have started from 1938 to 1940, when the mine was experiencing gold exhaustion.
It was during 1928, when the Murray Algoma Prospect was discovered by a guy who notice gold on his very stake land, who became identified as R. Patterson. The claim was later sold to another prospector known as W.H Reed. A small amount of prospecting was then carried out by N. Bond as he had optioned this property from W. H. Reed in 1929. Most of the land at this time was being further stripped, trenched, and a geophysical Mapping program was undertaken.
Explorations on the Murray Algoma Mine were first started in 1934, when the prospect was being explored by the newly incorporated Murray Algoma Gold Mines, Limited. It was at this point in time, when surface trenching, stripping, and conducting a 13 diamond drill program on the property. Diamond Drilling had gave of intersections of 0.20 ounces Au per ton over 3.5 feet, and another intersection had given off 0.13 ounces Au per ton over 5.5 feet from 1,500 feet in total length of core.
Development planning at the time was aimed at mining this property by the establishment of open-cut methods in 1935. Much of the work at this time was also being completed at a small scale throughout the operating year of 1935, and would continue to July before being suspended. The property at this time had also consisted of 18 claims, in historical township 28, Range 25, within the District of Algoma, Ontario, Canada. It wasn't till July, 1935, when work was once again commenced and a 2 mill power line was constructed from Hawk Junction to the Property. A few structures at the time were also erected which included a compressor house, blacksmith shop, cookery, and stable. By the end of 1935, a 220 cubic foor Sullivan Compressor, driven by a 50 H.P Motor, and an 1,800-gallon centrifugal pump, driven by a 5 H.P motor, had been installed.
Work on the Murray Algoma Prospect was continued on a much smaller scale then most mining operations in 1936. During this time period a 20-ton amalgamation mill was also constructed, and had included a 9 by 16-inch Jaw Crusher, a 5 1/2 by 8 inch Jaw Crusher, a 6 by 8-foot pebble mill, disc classifier, wilfley table, and amalgamation equipment. The mill within the operating year of 1936, was operated on steady basis from November, to Decemeber for a total oof 112 hours, and milled at about 120-tonnes. Production that came from the mill was mainly taken from surface mining operations that were done with a 220-cubic-foot Sullivan Compressor. Electricity at the time was also being taken from the Great Lakes Power Company in Hawk Junction, Ontario, Canada.
The last period of operation for the Murray Algoma Gold Mines, Limited was by the end of the operation year in 1937. All the work that was completed on the Algoma Murray Mine was done at a much smaller scale until the middle of August. It was during this time period when a total of 500-tonnes of surface ore was mined, and testing in the 20-ton amalgamation mill.
Production and development of the Centennial Mine Project had all started in 1901, when the Waterloo Mining County Syndicate had acquired this claim. Like all mining businesses, this one also had to conduct exploration studies to determine if the land was valuable enough to mine on. As trenching, drilling, and sampling had taken place the company had now knew that this claim held some potential resources. After getting their drill core sample assayed, it had proven to be a medium scale gold mine project with a high end life ahead of its self. So nevertheless, the Waterloo Mining County Syndicated was now developing this mine even more further when the first company shaft was sunk to 155 feet. As the shaft started to sink further within the ground, company officials would end up making two ore producing levels. The very first ore level to become developed was situated on the mines 80 foot section and had included 103 feet of drifting. Further development soon had escalated when the Waterloo Mining County Syndicate started engineering another level on the mines 145 foot section. After the Waterloo Mining County Syndicate had designed their very first shaft operation, they had started on developing two more sub-shafts. Each of these smaller scale shafts had only reached a small amount of depth as they became constructed to 25 and 35 feet. Further stripping of the land had soon indicated more promising gold discovery zones so company officials decided to develop another shaft that was sunken down to 23 feet on a claim known as the Continuity Claim Zone. After being unsuccessful in recovering large amounts of gold the mining operation had came to its first closure in 1902.
After being closed down for about a year, the Centennial Mining Operation was once again becoming developed by another mining firm. All ownership of this claimed area was now given to the Kichigami Mining Company Limited. Further explorations by this company had revealed that the claim still had some gold deposits within it. So nevertheless, the Kichigami Mining Company Limited had other plans in developing three producing shafts. Each of these newly developed shaft operations had been sunken down to 90, 100, and 110 feet below the surface. Some drifting procedures had occurred when company officials had developed the new 110 foot incline shaft. After being unsuccessful in recovering a rich gold zone, the Kitchigami Mine Company Limited had decided to completely abandon the mine site.
No real work was being done on the site till about 1934, when all ownership was now given to the Centennial Gold Mines Limited. Company officials who had named their own company after this mining site had started sampling the ground. Soon enough the ground sampling indicated more traces of gold that was to be uncovered and another shaft known as shaft No.5 was developed to about 40 feet. Now the historical Centennial Mine Site was rather looking like a medium scale mining operation that started rocking the Algoma District of Northern Ontario Canada. After being unsuccessful the real work was about to begin by another mining firm who was known as the Agawa Porcupine Mines Limited at the time but had changed their own name to Agawa Gold Mines Limited. All ownership of this medium scale mining operation was known to be completely confirmed in 1937.
In addition to this, the Agawa Gold Mines Limited had other plans when they decided to sink another shaft towards this mine. In general, shaft no. 7 was known for reaching a greater depth then the rest of the shafts as it was sunk down to 262 feet and was also considered a 2 compartment shaft. Company officials who owned the newly designed property had also constructed two ore producing levels which became situated on the mines 125 and 250 foot levels. As underground development and explorations had continue to take place, the main company shaft had now reached 3,717 feet of drifting and crosscutting. In addition a small 50 ton mill was installed to treat all the fine gold ore that came from the Centennial Mine Site. Milling of the extracted ore that came from the mine was officially started in 1939 and had ended in 1940. Production from the mill had soon processed 610 ounces of gold and 36 ounces of silver that was taken from 8,612 tons of extracted rock. This mine development wasn't considered to be so encouraging compared to other mines within the Algoma District. Some other exploration studies were also conducted from 1966 to 1992.
Road Closure- Shaft Cementing - Surluga Road - Minto- Jubilee Mine, Stanley Mine, Deep Lake Mine, etc - 2015